English

Fluke 179 True-RMS Digital Multimeter

Fluke 179 True-RMS Digital Multimeter is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 48.
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 32.32ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Fluke 179 True RMS Digital Multimeter
  • Fluke 179 True RMS Digital Multimeter
  • Fluke 179 Meter on the Job
  • Fluke 179 Troubleshooting Electrical Systems

Key features

  • 1000V AC/DC; 10A AC/DC (with test leads and current jacks); resistance to 50 MΩ; capacitance to 10,000 μF, frequency to 100 kHz; temperature from -40 ℃ to 400 ℃
  • Robust, fast and accurate with manual and automatic ranging, Display Hold, Auto Hold, and Min/Max-Average recording
  • Backlit digital display, analog bar graph, and built-in temperature measurements with included thermocouple.

Product overview: Fluke 179 True-RMS Digital Multimeter

The Fluke 179 True-rms Digital Multimeter is the industry-standard troubleshooting tool for electrical and electronic systems. This incredibly versatile multimeter makes a perfect front-line troubleshooting tool with an input protection rating of CAT III 1000 V, CAT IV 600 V. The built-in temperature measurement with the included thermocouple, analog bar graph and backlit digital display make it easier to take the measurements you need.

A full set of basic and advanced troubleshooting capabilities including:

  • Manual and automatic ranging
  • Display Hold and Auto Hold
  • Min/Max-Average recording
  • Voltage measurements to 1000 V AC or DC
  • Current measurements to 10 A AC/DC
  • Resistance to 50 MΩ; capacitance to 10,000 μF, frequency to 100 kHz; temperature from -40 ℃ to 400 ℃

All of these features come paired with a lifetime warranty.

Specifications: Fluke 179 True-RMS Digital Multimeter

Specifications
Voltage DCAccuracy1±(0.09% + 2)
Max. resolution0.1 mV
Maximum1000 V
Voltage ACAccuracy1±(1.0% + 3)
Max. resolution0.1 mV
Maximum1000 V
Current DCAccuracy1±(1.0% + 3)
Max. resolution0.01 mA
Maximum10 A
Current ACAccuracy1±(1.5% + 3)
Max. resolution0.01 mA
Maximum10 A
ResistanceAccuracy1±(0.9% + 1)
Max. resolution0.1 Ω
Maximum50 MΩ
CapacitanceAccuracy1±(1.2% + 2)
Max. resolution1 nF
Maximum10,000 µF
FrequencyAccuracy1±(0.1% + 1)
Max. resolution0.01 Hz
Maximum100 kHz
TemperatureAccuracy1±(1.0% + 10)
Max. resolution0.1°C
Range-40°C / 400°C
1. Accuracies are best accuracies for each function
Environmental Specifications
Operating temperature-10°C to +50°C
Storage temperature-30°C to +60°C
Humidity (without condensation)0% – 90% (0°C – 35°C)
0% – 70% (35°C – 50°C)
Safety Specifications
Overvoltage categoryEN 61010–1 to 1000 V CAT III
EN 61010–1 to 600 V CAT IV
Agency approvalsUL, CSA, TÜV listed and VDE Pending
Mechanical and General Specifications
Size43 x 90 x 185 mm
Weight420 g
WarrantyLifetime
Battery lifeAlkaline ~200 hours typical, without backlight

Models: Fluke 179 True-RMS Digital Multimeter

Fluke 179
Fluke 179 True RMS Digital Multimeter
Buy it

Includes:

  • 80BK Temperature Probe
  • Installed 9V battery
  • Test leads
  • Users manual

Reviews: Fluke 179 True-RMS Digital Multimeter

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good all around I picked up a 179 recently and I'm very happy with it. I was up and using it within minutes of taking it out of the box. It has all the features I need and work, around the house, and with my hobby electronics. The construction is solid and the controls are easy to use. I'm looking forward to years of use with this meter.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have True RMS Multimeter I originally purchased this while I was in Electronics Engineering and Robotics Automation schooling. I never would have imagined I would use it on a day to day basis outside of my career and schooling. Perfect for automotive applications. I cannot tell you durable this thing is and how many times I have dropped it on the hard concrete garage floor diagnosing electrical drains on my truck. The Hold and backlit features are second to none. No need to go back multiple times to remember what you measured. I highly recommend this model. Helps me on my day to day basis with my current job diagnosing alarm systems as well as 66 blocks. Works well for high and low voltage applications.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of the Fluke 179 The Fluke 179 is the preferred DVM for our test lab and at our labs in Dearborn Mi campus. The model 179 has proven to be a real workhorse in our lab for trouble shooting along with test setups. used by lab tech and engineers along with our skilled trades. The 179 is rugged. reliable and holds calibration better that any other competitors meters. We have tried competitors maters but have always come back to the Fluke line of equipment. In short you get what you pay for. Keep up the Great quality that we all have come accustom to from Fluke.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meter that I have used for years I bought my 179 in 2004. I have used it everyday as an automobile technician. I lover the back lighting, and that it has the capability to keep the back lighting on. Also love the very accurate ohms setting. Also use the DC amp option checking parasitic draws. And the meter is very accurate and works very well for fixing electronics at night. And for trouble shooting residential wiring as well. I would buy another in a heartbeat.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice to have an engineering grade DMM at home. I bought a Fluke 179 for home use after having used similar Flukes in graduate school, engineering work, and teaching for many years. Very pleased with its performance and the confidence that it affords when probing the mishmash electrical wiring of a hundred plus year old home!
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I need and more. I finally upgraded to a Fluke 179 a few months ago, and I don't know why I waited so long. I do guitar amplifier repair, and this is the perfect meter, fast, reliable, accurate, feature-rich. Everything I need in one package.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have! I use my Fluke 179 daily for many electrical and electronic troubleshooting tasks. I like the versatility of the unit as I can go from analyzing a motor drive or power coming into a system to working on a sensor. This meter does it all! The response time is great because nothing makes me angrier than slow to update display. A great purchase and I would get another one!
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressively fast meter. Thoroughly impressed with how fast this meter reads. Of all the Flukes in my collection used for various tasks the 179 stands above with how quickly it can read. I'd do a more in depth review but most of it is just repeating the standard Fluke standards that are written in most of these reviews. It has been a solid meter for troubleshooting and rebuilding a few amplifiers and receivers as well as building other misc. AC/DC projects from the ground up.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, Durable, Simple, Effective I've had this meter for several years now, I'm very rough on my tools, Have dropped this meter from a ski lift tower with nothing but aesthetic damage. It has all the features i need to trouble shoot all types of problems, from low voltage control wiring to higher voltage commercial and industrial wiring
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely long battery life, fast, reliable I work on large induction power supplies, complex PLC control systems, and general industrial maintenance. This meter covers all these fields and more. I have used it for over 4 years! The battery life is great, but the accuracy and speed is where it truly shines. I know I can trust my 179 as it has never let me down.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal for industrial maintenance. The 179 has the features to diagnose 98% of the problems a maintenance tech in a manufacturing plant is likely to encounter at a price anyone in the trade can afford. I have acquired plenty of other tools as my role has changed (see photo) but the 179 is still the one I keep at hand for everyday jobs. There are other tools on the market that have the same functions at a lower price but with them you don't get the most important features: Fluke's safety, reliability, durability and accuracy. I trust no other brand on the job.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My First Fluke.. I use the 179 for every thing, from amateur radio repair, computer overclocking and repair, electronics to household electrical. It is accurate. Very good features, really like the temperature measurements, and true RMS. I recommend anyone to buy one. It is a great meter.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to meter I bought my first one of these meters when it first came out. Used daily, it took many years to wear out the first battery. Everytime I have checked the calibration, it is always spot on. Even after falling off a 120' wind turbine tower, beating around tool boxes, and more. Subsequently I have purchased many more of these meters and provide them for all of my technicians and work stations at our factory.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great troubleshooting tool I have been using this meter for the last couple of years in troubleshooting HVAC units. It has all the desired features for measuring AC and DC voltage, current, frequency, temperature, resistance, and capacitance. The meter is very robust, has backlight lighting, min and max recording. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything you need in one! I have had this meter for over a year now and use it everyday. It is quick reading and very accurate. I do high and extremely low AC and DC voltages with an array of circuit testing. It works perfectly for all. I also purchased a kit that has the case, probe assortment and the very essential magnetic holder. Very nice setup! I have many customers ask me where I got the meter and kit. I do wish the meter would have come with a case, but I am glad I spent a little extra and bought the kit. Highly, highly recommend whether you are a beginner or a veteran with electrical.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to use, robust, precise and reliable This tool is perfect for facilities management (including HVAC, electrical and instrumentation)
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best meter out there for the price I have had two of these models in the last 15 years. They are very reliable and accurate. The ability to have the backlight stay on all the time is a great feature as well. When my business looks at test instruments we look not further than Fluke.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favoriate MM yet! I have been using this meter now for a few years, and overall it is fantastic. It is easy to use, and very fast. Autoranging works well, and min/max is very useful for troubleshooting as well. If anything could be improved I would suggest the backlight in the LCD for easier viewing at night.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product easy to use I am a maintenance Technician who works presses,furnaces, cncs,robots and other things. I more mechanical than electrical but this product is easy enough for me to use even tho I'm not formally trained. Would recommend to anyone. Even my coworkers who are electricians like it's capability and size
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I work as over head crane maintenance mechanic, and like a year ago they start letting us the mechanics work into the electrical part because of ahort handed, so i was in the market for a good quality product, so i asked my coworker which is an electrician that which multimeter would be a good one for the type of work we do and he told me get the fluke 179 multimeter, so i bought it like a year ago and i love it. Really easy to understand the features and never had any problem. Excellent quality and durability.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 179 True RMS I love this meter. It's fast, true RMS, the bar-graph is super useful for quick checks and it has a back-light. Quality is again outstanding. I think everybody knows that if you want the best, fluke is the way to go.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect meter for everyone This is the best meter I have ever owned. I have used the el cheapo ones from the big box stores and they just don't have the accuracy, durability, or battery life of the 179. I would recommend this even over the other fluke meters like the 117. The 179 has more resolution and can display temperatures. It is well worth the bump in price.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features! I bought this meter and it works wonders. It is absolutely amazing. Can't believe I have lived without this meter this long! Fluke is the best meter and has the best features!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great functional meter for every day use I was in the market for a new multi meter and chose this model for it's competitive pricing, it's features and the reliability that I have come to expect from Fluke products. It has been a great addition to my troubleshooting tools and I couldn't be happier with it's ease of use and dependability. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a DMM.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You can never go wrong with a fluke I have had this meter for about a year now and it works as great as the day I bought it. It has all of the features I need plus more. Fluke meters are the most accurate meters I have ever used. They are built to last and can take a beating. I have had experience with other meters and they just don't compare to the quality and functionality of a fluke. The 179 is perfect for the professional electrician and for the homeowner/automobile owner who wants a tool that will stand the test of time. It is also a great investment for the student electrician who is looking for a meter that that will last them for years to come. The price that these meters command are worth every penny. You will not be disappointed in your purchase. At one of the best things about fluke is they stand behind there product 100%.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Meter is a Little Powerhouse I purchased two of these to support an ongoing test where they will be left in place for several months. I initially purchased this model because it was inexpensive and supported the basic functions that I needed covered for the test but have since updated more meters in my facility with this model due to its versatility, durability and price. I am amazed at how much functionality you get for a small price these days, Fluke has done well with this and so many other products that I have bought from them
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the most reliable tools in my arsenal I've had this in my tool bag since I was in college studying electrical engineering, and over the years I've used it for everything from small electronics, car work, and now testing house hold circuits. It is by far one of the best investments I've made in my early years. The backlight is incredibly useful when you're sitting upside down on your driver's seat, with your face in the deep dark pits of the dashboard, or when you're in the corner of the attic wiring up a junction box.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Meter! I've had this meter for a couple of years now and I've used it for everything from building my custom drone to troubleshooting our churches electronic restroom fixtures. Most recently I repaired my coffee roaster by testing voltages, resistance and then using the temp probe to confirm the exhaust temperature spec. I absolutely love this thing! Buy right the first time and you'll enjoy it every time you use it. I highly recommend this meter.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for our startup just completed a multimillion dollar expansion and got these 179 multimeters for our startup team. They worked perfect for the industrial setting from ringing out bad installation wiring, to voltage/ammeter checkout, including a few accidental drops on the plant floor and still worked.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Robust Meter As a homeowner, hobbyist, and electrical engineer a quality multimeter was a need for me. I was tired of buying cheap meters that didn't work well. I decided to buy the best, Fluke. I've been very happy with the quality and performance of the meter. The meter is very responsive when checking continuity.
Date published: 2016-12-07
  • y_2020, m_10, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_fluke-179, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fluke
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 23.58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT