Fluke 289 True-RMS Data Logging Multimeter

Fluke 289 True-RMS Data Logging Multimeter is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 41.
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 24.53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Fluke 289 True-RMS Industrial Data Logging Multimeter | Fluke
  • Fluke 289 True-RMS Industrial Data Logging Multimeter | Fluke
  • Fluke 289 True-RMS Industrial Data Logging Multimeter | Fluke
  • Fluke 289 True-RMS Industrial Data Logging Multimeter | Fluke

Key features

Equipped with new functionality

  • Share results with your team using ShareLive™ video call (requires ir3000 FC wireless connector [sold separately] and no-cost Fluke Connect mobile app).
  • TrendCapture graphically displays logged data session to quickly determine whether anomalies may have occurred.
  • Zoom on trend provides unprecedented ability to view and analyze TrendCapture data; zoom in up to 14 times.
  • Selectable AC filter (smoothing mode) helps display a steadier reading when the input signal is changing rapidly or noisy.
  • Low Pass filter for accurate voltage and frequency measurements at the same time on adjustable speed motor drives and other electrically noisy equipment.
  • LoZ Volts. Low impedance voltage function for eliminating ghost voltages. Also recommended when testing for absence or presence of live power.
  • Adjustable recording and auto hold thresholds, specify a percentage change in the readings that begins a new event.
  • Large 50,000 count, 1/4 VGA dot matrix display with white backlight.
  • Logging function with expanded memory for unattended monitoring of signals over time. Using on-board TrendCapture users can graphically review logged readings without needing a PC. Store up to 15,000 recorded events.
  • Save multiple logging sessions before PC download is necessary.
  • Two terminal 50 ohm range with 1 milliohm resolution, 10 mA source current. Useful for measuring and comparing differences in motor winding resistance or contact resistance.
  • On board help screens for measurement functions. Unsure about a function - go to that function and press the "i" button.
  • Real time clock for automatic time stamping of saved readings.
  • Relative mode to remove test lead resistance from low ohms or capacitance measurements.
  • True-RMS AC voltage and current for accurate measurements on non-linear signals.
  • Measure up to 10 A (20 A for 30 seconds).
  • 100 mF capacitance range.
  • Peak capture to record transients as fast as 250 μs.
  • Premium test leads and alligator clips included.
  • Amp jack plugs included.
  • Optional magnetic hanger for easy setup and viewing while freeing your hands for other tasks.
  • FlukeView forms enable you to document, store and analyze individual readings or a series of measurements, then convert them into professional-looking documents.
  • Limited lifetime warranty.

Product overview: Fluke 289 True-RMS Data Logging Multimeter

Fluke 289 True-RMS Logging Multimeter helps you find little problems before they become big ones

The Fluke 289 is the next generation high performance industrial logging multimeter. This Fluke Connect-compatible DMM is designed to solve complex problems in electronics, plant automation, power distribution, and electro-mechanical equipment. Let the 289 be your watchdog for systems or processes while you are off doing other jobs. It provides the ability to log data and graphically review up 10,000 recorded events and logged readings with on-board TrendCapture. Zoom on trend provides a 14x zoom to view and analyze data—without needing a PC.

Because the 289 is Fluke Connect-compatible you can set it up with the ir3000 FC wireless connector (sold separately) to communicate with your iOS and Android smart devices through the Fluke Connect mobile app and monitor readings from a remote location. Or you can share readings with your team in an instant anytime, from anywhere with ShareLive™ video call. It can help you solve problems faster and minimize downtime.

Other useful features:

  • Provides up to a 14x zoom to view and analyze TrendCapture data in depth
  • Includes a selectable AC filter (smoothing mode) to help display a steadier reading when the input signal is changing rapidly or noisy.
  • Offers adjustable recording and auto hold thresholds to specify a percentage change in the readings that begins a new event
  • Features a large 50,000 count, 1/4 VGA dot matrix display with white backlight
  • Stores up to 15,000 recorded events so you can save multiple logging sessions before PC download is necessary
  • Provides two-terminal 50 ohm range with 1 milliohm resolution, 10 mA source current, for measuring and comparing differences in motor winding resistance or contact resistance
  • Includes low pass filter for accurate voltage and frequency measurements at the same time on adjustable speed motor drives and other electrically noisy equipment.
  • Provides LoZ Volts, a low impedance voltage function for eliminating ghost voltages Recommended when testing for absence or presence of live power
  • Features on-board help screens for measurement functions
  • Includes a real-time clock to automatically time stamp saved readings
  • Offers relative mode to remove test lead resistance from low ohms or capacitance measurements
  • Provides True-RMS AC voltage and current for accurate measurements on non-linear signals
  • Measures up to 10 A (20 A for 30 seconds)
  • Provides up to 100 mF capacitance range
  • Records transients as fast as 250 μs with peak capture
  • Includes premium test leads, alligator clips, and amp jack plugs
  • Offers optional magnetic hanger for easy setup and viewing while freeing your hands for other tasks
  • Works with optional FlukeView forms to enable you to document, store and analyze individual readings or a series of measurements, then convert them into professional-looking documents.
  • Includes a limited lifetime warranty.

Specifications: Fluke 289 True-RMS Data Logging Multimeter

Specifications
Function
DC voltsRange / resolution50.000 mV, 500.00 mV, 5.0000 V, 50.000 V, 500.00 V, 1000.0 V
Basic accuracy0.025%
AC voltsRange / resolution50.000 mV, 500.00 mV, 5.0000 V, 50.000 V, 500.00 V, 1000.0 V
Basic accuracy0.4% (True-RMS)
DC currentRange / resolution500.00 μA, 5000.0 μA, 50.000 mA, 400.00 mA, 5.0000 A, 10.000 A
Basic accuracy0.05%
AC currentRange / resolution500.00 μA, 5000.0 μA, 50.000 mA, 400.00 mA, 5.0000 A, 10.000 A
Basic accuracy0.6% (True-RMS)
Temperature (excluding probe)Range / resolution-200.0°C to 1350.0°C (-328.0°F to 2462.0°F)
Basic accuracy1.0%
ResistanceRange / resolution50.000 Ω, 500.00 Ω, 5.0000 kΩ, 50.000 kΩ, 500.00 kΩ, 5.0000 MΩ, 50.00 MΩ, 500.0 MΩ
Basic accuracy0.05%
CapacitanceRange / resolution1.000 nF,10.00 nF 100.0 nF, 1.000 μF, 10.00 μF, 100.0 μF, 1000 μF, 10.00 mF, 100 mF
Basic accuracy1.0%
FrequencyRange / resolution99.999 Hz, 999.99 Hz, 9.9999 kHz, 99.999 kHz, 999.99 kHz
Basic accuracy0.005%
ConnectivityOptional infrared connector via Fluke ir3000 FC
General Specifications
Maximum voltage between any terminal and earth ground1000 V
Battery type6 AA alkaline batteries, NEDA 15A IECLR6
Battery life100 hours minimum, 200 hours in logging mode
TemperatureOperating-20°C to 55°C
Storage-40°C to 60°C
Relative humidity0 to 90% (0 to 37°C), 0 to 65% (37°C to 45°C), 0 to 45% (45°C to 55°C)
Electromagnetic compatibilityEMC EN61326–1
VibrationRandom vibration per MIL-PRF-28800F Class 2
Shock1 meter drop per IEC/EN 61010–1 3rd Edition
Size (H x W x L)22.2 x 10.2 x 6 cm (8.75 x 4.03 x 2.38 in)
Weight870.9 g (28 oz)
Multiple on screen displaysYes
True-RMS AC bandwidth100 kHz
dBV/dBmYes
DC mV resolution1 μV
Megohm rangeUp to 500 MΩ
Conductance50.00 nS
Continuity beeperYes
Battery/fuse accessYes/Yes
Elapse time clockYes
Time of day clockYes
Min-max-avgYes
Duty cycleYes
Pulse widthYes
Isolated optical interfaceYes
Auto/touch holdYes
Reading memoryYes
Log to PCYes
Interval/event loggingYes
Logging memoryUp to 15,000 readings
Wireless connectivity (optional)Yes

Models: Fluke 289 True-RMS Data Logging Multimeter

Fluke 289
Fluke 289 True-RMS Industrial Logging Multimeter
Where to buy

Includes:

  • 289 True-RMS Industrial Logging Multimeter
  • TL71 Test Leads
  • AC175 Alligator Clips
  • Batteries – 6 AA Installed

Requires Fluke ir3000 FC Infrared Connector for Fluke Connect communication

Reviews: Fluke 289 True-RMS Data Logging Multimeter

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Logging Feature Works Well I purchased this unit in the spring of '16 and have been able to utilize the logging feature and software on more than one occasion. The unit and the software make root-cause analysis and reporting much more precise and simpler than manually entering values on an spreadsheet.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome meter! The Fluke 289 is a great, great meter! I have one in addition to the Fluke 87-V and I love them both. I love how solidly the meter is built. Mine has survived a 15 foot drop off the roof of my house onto concrete. The only thing that happened was a little scuffing. The screen is awesome -- very easy to read in all lighting conditions. I love the ability to log -- it is very handy when trying to see trends over time with a solar array (see aforementioned drop from roof). I'd buy it again, but I don't expect that I'll have to!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 289 is an excellent product The 289 is packed full of all the features I would ever need in a multimeter, and then some. The recording option is a great tool for monitoring while I am not able to be present.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Logging feature- Incredibly useful I love being able to hook this meter up and walk away! I do wish there larger storage capacity within the device (as well as battery capacity).
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Logging DMM for the common man Great DMM! I feel as though you get a ton of features for the money with the Fluke 289. Just one of the tasks I perform with my 289 is monitoring large battery charging systems. Troubleshooting these systems have gotten a lot easier with the logging feature of this meter! I am able to set the log time duration (typically 12 hours for me) and connect it to the system. You can literally be looking at a chart displaying all of the charge stages. This gives you an actual visual picture of the charging algorithm, which then can be compared to the manufacturer’s data. This also allows me to measure battery cell voltage drop, over a set time, whereas just measuring cell voltage with a normal DMM might not reveal an underlying problem. The 289 is slightly larger in the hand than my trusty Fluke 87. The large LCD is very nice though, and even spoils you a little after using it. I really like the min/max feature on this, as it displays all the values simultaneously on screen. All around the display is very easy to read, even in dark spaces. I use the 289 for bench work a lot, just because the display is so nice! The basic DMM features are very easy to use, and the logging options do not get in the way for quick voltage readings, etc., when not needed. Great meter, I would definitely purchase again!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meter Bought this meter because it has recording capabilities. It does not disappoint. It allows me to test medical gas alarms without a second person watching the panel.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the meter Been using Fluke meters for the past 30 years and I still love them, especially my new 289. The meter is a bit big and heavy compared the other meters I have used in the past but the features more than make up for it. The meter uses 6 AA batteries which is one reason why it seems to be on the heavy side. It would have been nice if fluke used rechargeable Li-Ion batteries instead. With all the features this meter has the info button comes in handy. Over all the meter is great and I look forward to getting many years of use out of it.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fluke 289 Reliable-Accurate-Safety I use my 289 DMM everyday at work as a HVACR technician. It is vital that I get fast accurate electrical readings that I can log to determine the cause of intermittent problems. Capacitance, resistance, AC high voltage testing, low DC control communication voltage with fast refresh rates, continuity trouble shooting, Micro amps reading for checking flame sensor output, mV DC readings for thermocouple and thermopile output readings to check safety controls on gas appliances.. ..and more I have many Fluke DMM and current clamp meters. They all are superior to what my coworkers use for electrical testing. 95% of hvac problems are electrical so it is important to have quality test equipment that is calibrated. Example of Fluke saving the day! I was working with another technician one day on commercial RTU's, 3-phase 480V line voltage isupplied to each unit. My coworker had a cheap no name meter which was reading 0 volts on each of the three legs which I thought was very odd. I grabbed my 289 and walked over quickly and checked the line voltage in the service disconnect. What did I find.. and each leg was HOT! This techs cheap meter almost cost him his life because of not buying good equipment we used to put food in our stomachs.... and he kept that deadly ometer!! I wanted to smash it! MY FLUKE 289 saved his life that day because I know I can always count on my test equipment to provide me with fast accurate readings. I've had many, many high end name DMM, but nothing could display run capacitor microfarad readings as fast as my 289 and 87V. I've watched others take readings of capacitors that would to literally take 3-4 seconds to display a reading and then another few seconds for the reading to settle. They even had a decent brand name of equipment. Fluke is the standard to which all other meters are compared to. Accuracy of Fluke published meter resolutions are not exaggerated like many other brands. Ever since I was young my father always had a Fluke test equipment so I was never exposed to the junk that is sold all over today. I only buy the best equipment I can afford and it pays dividends down the line! People complain about the price of well made test equipment, such as Fluke, but having accurate, reliable readings gives me a edge when performing diagnostics of problems quickly. my Fluke 289 meter is safe and I never need, or will, second guess a reading I took because you $30 DMM has poor tolerences, cheap test leads with high resistance, lack of a CAT rating that ensures the equipment will protect its user. Their is a reason why Chinese produce meters that appear to look like a fluke from the color and mouldings. This should be a big hint to consumers. Knock offs of poorly known products are not made. Only the top of the line products are duplicated because of their reputations and known quality of the original products. BTW, ALWAYS test and inspect your meters test leads. They're just as important as having a well made Fluke DMM! CHEERS!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Logging Features I love the 289 and its ability to log info, download it using the software is a great asset and timesaver. It saves me time and makes my job easier.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Accurate and love the logging feature! I bought this a few years ago and haven't looked back since. The logging feature I love the most about the device. Because it uses AA batteries, I'd recommend using rechargeable ones, less chance of leaking on the terminals.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fluke 289 Multimeter I work as a Facilities Engineer in a manufacturing plant. Controls, PLC's, VFD's, Servos, etc..... My old time favorite meter for troubleshooting was my tried and true Fluke 87. Once I got my hands on the Fluke 289, it was the first time I felt like I might have a good replacement / upgrade to the 87. Very happy with it. Several of the other engineers have gone to the 289 now.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For years, my go to DMM I have been using the 289 for years now, and it is one of the indispensable tools on my bench and on the go. Beyond being super rugged and very precise, its logging capabilities are great when working on battery or solar installations. It is not small, but the screen is really good and could not imagine doing my job without it. I use the 289 a lot with the open source Wizkers.io app that enables you to visualize data, download the logs etc on the Mac, Windows and on Android devices, using just the serial to infrared cable, super easy and useful too.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best portable logging DMM I have, and continue to use, many Fluke meters. The one I use the most, day in, day out is this 289. Even though I have a bench meter at my desk, I find myself reaching for the 289 over and over again. With the Fluke Connect app and accessory, I have been able to keep an eye on a project from across the work area and the logging capabilities mean I don't have to worry about missing anything if my attention is elsewhere. Trends are easy to spot, trouble is easy to find, and I would be lost without this tool.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The King of DMM This DMM provides full functionalities of any kind of measurements with great precision requirement, but it still lacks of inductance measuring. Nevertheless, the Fluke 289 DMM and Fluke 199C Oscilloscope are the best 30-years-old birthday present for me to celebrate accomplish the National Higher Examination for Electronic Engineering in Taiwan. The kit help me to create many circuit design, and solve lots of difficult issues.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I GAVE AWAY MY FLUKE 77 AND NOW HAVE THE YES DVM+ WHEN I SAW THIS WORK OF ART I NEW IT WAS TIME TO BUY. BENCH DVM IS NOW ON THE ROAD. I HAVE SOLVED ALL KINDS OF TROUBLE BY CREATIVE US OF THIS TOOL BY BUILDING MY OWN COOL PROBES SO I CAN TRAP THE TROUBLE.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from True RMS disappointing The Fluke 289 digital multimeter is very good but not excellent if one needs to make measurements of AC circuits that operate in switch mode.  For example, a basic 12 volt halogen light solid state transformer reads 10.3 volts and that is too much error for some applications.  The attached photo shows the 120 Hz waveform ... the switching frequency is 65 kHz which should be within the capability of this meter.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Leaking caps? There seems to be a leaking supercapacitor issue with this meter. Otherwise it's a great meter! http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/fluke-189-with-leaking-surface-mount-coin-cell/
Date published: 2013-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The All In One Meter This meter is amazing for the price range. I use this everyday from trending feeders to see capacity for new additions to troubleshooting motor and motor control circuits. This meter with a clamp attachment will almost most any meters(besides speciality meters.) The dual lighted display is so clear in any to no light. The trend graphing is a huge addition for a meter in this price range. The only downside is the boot time but it is not terrible somewhere around 5 secs. I bought this meter to replace my 119 and it has been worth every penny.
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The All In One Meter This meter is amazing for the price range. I use this everyday from trending feeders to see capacity for new additions to troubleshooting motor and motor control circuits. This meter with a clamp attachment will almost most any meters(besides speciality meters.) The dual lighted display is so clear in any to no light. The trend graphing is a huge addition for a meter in this price range. The only downside is the boot time but it is not terrible somewhere around 5 secs. I bought this meter to replace my 119 and it has been worth every penny.
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There can be no other than Fluke in my company I am a long time Fluke customer, and have had a long line of Fluke products that I still use every day. I am in the generator sales/service industry. I will not allow any of my employees to have less than a Fluke 187. My 189 is a back-up, but I never have to use it unless I need two at a time. Nothing silences a noisy customer better than a nice looking print-out of what his generator will, and won't, do. I enjoy it when discussing problems with a factory and they question my numbers, and I tell them that they are from a Fluke 289, they move on to another subject. Fluke. There can be no other.
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There can be no other than Fluke in my company I am a long time Fluke customer, and have had a long line of Fluke products that I still use every day. I am in the generator sales/service industry. I will not allow any of my employees to have less than a Fluke 187. My 189 is a back-up, but I never have to use it unless I need two at a time. Nothing silences a noisy customer better than a nice looking print-out of what his generator will, and won't, do. I enjoy it when discussing problems with a factory and they question my numbers, and I tell them that they are from a Fluke 289, they move on to another subject. Fluke. There can be no other.
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Useful Tool in My Bag I'm an A/V system integrator and live audio veteran and am absolutely in love with this meter. Being able to have voltage measurements displayed in dBm and dBV is an absolutely indespensible tool in the field or at a show. The dBm range correlates perfectly to dBu when set to mimic a 600-ohm impedance. If I have a problem with a system input or output, in little more than the time it takes to connect the leads, I have all the info I need to point me in the right direction. With the AC mV function displaying dBm, I can actually directly measure microphone outputs (and make quick use of the readings), which is something I've pined for in a meter for quite a while. It's saved me countless head-scratching sessions. The Crest Factor function is also great for quickly checking whether an audio test signal is being distorted somewhere up-stream. I've also had it on the bench verifying performance on countless products. Trend Capture is awesome for predicting how much a setting will drift after an A/V system has been commissioned. It's nice knowing these things before a service call is ever made. I also use the 50-Ohm range in the field to check speaker systems for proper impedance loading. It's nice having that extra bit of accuracy when you're dealing with systems that have numerous loudspeakers. Adjustable display contrast on-the-fly makes for easy readings in any environment. All in all, it's an absolutely wonderful tool for what I do. I would LOVE to see a real-time graph implemented sometime in the future if it's possible. I don't like having to stop a recording and restart it to check progress. My only real complaint is that I don't have two of them! Not to say my 87V doesn't get its fair share of attention. ;)
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Useful Tool in My Bag I'm an A/V system integrator and live audio veteran and am absolutely in love with this meter. Being able to have voltage measurements displayed in dBm and dBV is an absolutely indespensible tool in the field or at a show. The dBm range correlates perfectly to dBu when set to mimic a 600-ohm impedance. If I have a problem with a system input or output, in little more than the time it takes to connect the leads, I have all the info I need to point me in the right direction. With the AC mV function displaying dBm, I can actually directly measure microphone outputs (and make quick use of the readings), which is something I've pined for in a meter for quite a while. It's saved me countless head-scratching sessions. The Crest Factor function is also great for quickly checking whether an audio test signal is being distorted somewhere up-stream. I've also had it on the bench verifying performance on countless products. Trend Capture is awesome for predicting how much a setting will drift after an A/V system has been commissioned. It's nice knowing these things before a service call is ever made. I also use the 50-Ohm range in the field to check speaker systems for proper impedance loading. It's nice having that extra bit of accuracy when you're dealing with systems that have numerous loudspeakers. Adjustable display contrast on-the-fly makes for easy readings in any environment. All in all, it's an absolutely wonderful tool for what I do. I would LOVE to see a real-time graph implemented sometime in the future if it's possible. I don't like having to stop a recording and restart it to check progress. My only real complaint is that I don't have two of them! Not to say my 87V doesn't get its fair share of attention. ;)
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent meter In 2004 or so Fluke came out with the 189 and I bought one. I liked the accuracy and came back in 2007/2008 and bought FOUR 289's. I use them constantly. They have paid for themselves in the recording capability which helps troubleshooting to a very high degree. Being able to capture faults in an operating system is kind of like having a storage scope but for far less cost. The accuracy is top notch and the Fluke durability is key if you need to use your meters on a daily basis for your occupation. I suggest putting lithium batteries in them, these meters are power hungry little devils, they eat up alkaline batteries like no tomorrow and the best way to combat that is to use lithium batteries. In all other regards, I recommend this meter without reservation.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent meter In 2004 or so Fluke came out with the 189 and I bought one. I liked the accuracy and came back in 2007/2008 and bought FOUR 289's. I use them constantly. They have paid for themselves in the recording capability which helps troubleshooting to a very high degree. Being able to capture faults in an operating system is kind of like having a storage scope but for far less cost. The accuracy is top notch and the Fluke durability is key if you need to use your meters on a daily basis for your occupation. I suggest putting lithium batteries in them, these meters are power hungry little devils, they eat up alkaline batteries like no tomorrow and the best way to combat that is to use lithium batteries. In all other regards, I recommend this meter without reservation.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This meter has the versatility for any job. As a technician at a R&D facility I work on a variety of different projects. I not only build prototypes, but visit operational sites to troubleshoot and repair in service units. With the 289 I am able to record transients; to test not only for continuity, but to reverse continuity check; to measure frequency; to measure microamps; to test components, including the value of capacitors. Since I travel all over the world, having to carry only one meter is a real plus for me.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This meter has the versatility for any job. As a technician at a R&D facility I work on a variety of different projects. I not only build prototypes, but visit operational sites to troubleshoot and repair in service units. With the 289 I am able to record transients; to test not only for continuity, but to reverse continuity check; to measure frequency; to measure microamps; to test components, including the value of capacitors. Since I travel all over the world, having to carry only one meter is a real plus for me.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good but....... I bought this meter when it first came out, actually ordered it before it was released from my distributor. It has served well the past couple years but recently I have had to send it in for repair twice for the same problem. That doesn't sit well with me. I haven't had any problems with my other fluke products but I don't feel I can trust my 289 when it keeps getting sent back for repair.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good but....... I bought this meter when it first came out, actually ordered it before it was released from my distributor. It has served well the past couple years but recently I have had to send it in for repair twice for the same problem. That doesn't sit well with me. I haven't had any problems with my other fluke products but I don't feel I can trust my 289 when it keeps getting sent back for repair.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my needs, and then some As the diagnostician in a diesel and automotive repair shop, I was in need of a meter that would allow me to perform just about any test my job would require. My choice of the 289 was obvious, as the trend-plot feature is a life saver when diagnosing intermittent issues. The large VGA screen helps readability when working over an operating engine. When working on the interior or undercarriage, the backlight is a necessity. I have also found the 50 ohm function very useful for testing the serial data wiring in modern systems as they are very sensitive to corrosion and other resistance inducing conditions. The only major issue I have with the 289's features is the lack of real time graphing and a min, max, and average display for the recording. All told, I believe I have made the right choice in purchasing this product and expect many years of use from it.
Date published: 2012-06-16
  • y_2019, m_11, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_fluke-289, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fluke
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 29.93ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Resources: Fluke 289 True-RMS Data Logging Multimeter