Fluke 116 Digital HVAC Multimeter

Fluke 116 Digital HVAC Multimeter is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 30.
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 22.97ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Fluke 116 Digital Multimeter For HVAC Service | Fluke
  • Fluke 116 Digital Multimeter For HVAC Service | Fluke
  • Fluke 116 Digital Multimeter For HVAC Service | Fluke
  • Fluke 116 Digital Multimeter For HVAC Service | Fluke

Key features

  • Digital multimeter designed specifically for HVAC professionals
  • Includes built-in thermometer to measure temperature from -40°C to 400°C (-40°F to 752°F)
  • Provides microamps to test flame sensors
  • Features low input impedance to helps prevent false readings due to ghost voltage
  • Presents a large white LED backlight for working in poorly lit areas

Product overview: Fluke 116 Digital HVAC Multimeter

The Fluke 116 DMM provides the features you need to quickly troubleshoot HVAC equipment

The Fluke 116 was specifically designed for HVAC professionals. It has everything you need to quickly troubleshoot problems with HVAC equipment and flame sensors, including a built-in thermometer to measure temperatures up to 400°C (752°F) and microamps to test flame sensors. The Fluke 116 also measures resistance, continuity, frequency, and capacitance. And the large white LED backlight makes it easy to see results even in poorly lit areas.

Fluke 116 multimeters are independently tested for safe use in CAT III 600 V environments.

Other useful features:

  • Measures resistance, continuity, frequency, and capacitance
  • Provides Min/Max/Average to record signal fluctuations
  • Comes with a holster with probe holders for easy storage
  • Features a compact ergonomic design for one-handed operation
  • Fits into optional ToolPak™ magnetic hanger for hands-free operation
  • CAT III 600 V safety rated

Specifications: Fluke 116 Digital HVAC Multimeter

Specifications
Maximum voltage between any terminal and earth ground600 V
Surge protection6 kV peak per IEC 61010–1 600 VCAT III, Pollution Degree 2
DisplayDigital: 6,000 counts, updates 4 per second
Bar graph33 segments, updates 32 per second
Operating temperature-10°C to + 50°C
Storage temperature-40°C to + 60°C
Battery type9 volt Alkaline, NEDA 1604A/ IEC 6LR61
Battery life400 hours typical, without backlight
Accuracy Specifications
DC millivoltsRange/resolution600.0 mV / 0.1 mV
Accuracy±([% of reading] + [counts]): 0.5% + 2
DC voltsRange/resolution6.000 V / 0.001 V
60.00 V / 0.01 V
600.00 V / 0.1 V
Accuracy±([% of reading] + [counts]): 0.5% + 2
Auto voltsRange/resolution600.0 V / 0.1 V
Accuracy2.0% + 3 (DC, 45 Hz to 500 Hz)
4.0% + 3 (500 Hz to 1 kHz)
AC millivolts1 True RMSRange/resolution600.0 mV / 0.1 mV
Accuracy1.0% + 3 (DC, 45 Hz to 500 Hz)
2.0% + 3 (500 Hz to 1 kHz)
AC volts1 True RMSRange/resolution6.000 V / 0.001 V
60.00 V / 0.01 V
600.0 V / 0.1 V
Accuracy1.0% + 3 (DC, 45 Hz to 500 Hz)
2.0% + 3 (500 Hz to 1 kHz)
ContinuityRange/resolution600 Ω / 1 Ω
AccuracyBeeper on < 20 Ω, off > 250 Ω detects opens or shorts of
500 μs or longer.
OhmsRange/resolution600.0 Ω / 0.1 Ω
6.000 kΩ / 0.001 kΩ
60.00 kΩ / 0.01 kΩ
600.0 kΩ / 0.1 kΩ
6.000 MΩ / 0.001 MΩ
Accuracy0.9% + 1
Range/Resolution40.00 MΩ / 0.01 MΩ
Accuracy5% + 2
Diode TestRange/resolution2.00 V / 0.001 V
Accuracy0.9% + 2
CapacitanceRange/resolution1000 nF / 1 nF
10.00 μF / 0.01 μF
100.0 μF / 0.1 μF
9999 μF / 1 μF
100 μF to 1000 μF
Accuracy1.9% + 2
Range/resolution> 1000 μF
Accuracy5% + 20%
Lo-Z CapacitanceRange1 nF to 500 μF
Accuracy10% + 2 typical
Temperature²
(Type-K thermocouple)
Range/resolution-40°C to 400°C / 0.1°C
Accuracy1% + 10²
Range/resolution-40°F to 752°F / 0.2°F
Accuracy1% + 18²
AC μA true-rms (45 Hz to 500 Hz)Range/resolution600.0 μA / 0.1 μA
Accuracy1.5% + 3
DC μampsRange/resolution600.0 μA / 0.1 μA
Accuracy1.0% + 2
Hz (V or A input)²Range/resolution99.99 Hz / 0.01 Hz
999.9 Hz / 0.1 Hz
9.999 kHz / 0.001 Hz
50.00 kHz / 0.01 Hz
Accuracy0.1% + 2
1. All AC voltage ranges except Auto-V/LoZ are specified from 1% to 100% of range. Auto-V/LoZ is specified from 0.0 V.
2. Temperature uncertainty (accuracy) does not include the error of the thermocouple probe.
3. Frequency is AC coupled, 5 Hz to 50 kHz for AC voltage. Frequency is DC coupled, 45 Hz to 5 kHz for AC current.
4. Temperature Range/Resolution: -40°F to 752°F / 0.2°F.
Mechanical and General Specifications
Size167 x 84 x 46 mm (6.57 x 3.31 x 1.82 in)
Weight550 g
Warranty3 years

Models: Fluke 116 Digital HVAC Multimeter

Fluke 116
Fluke 116 Digital Multimeter
Buy it

Includes:

  • 4 mm silicone test lead set
  • 80BK Integrated Temperature probe
  • Holster
  • Installed 9 V battery
  • User manual

Reviews: Fluke 116 Digital HVAC Multimeter

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HVAC meter I have had this meter for 10 years, and it has never let me down. I work industrial in the Pacific Northwest, and this meter has seen abuse, from pouring rain, to snow. The only gripe I have is from day one, the temp function has been off by about 10 degrees.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome a Must Have for HVAC Techs Bought this a month ago replacing my Fieldpiece that broke on me in the field on a service call. I am Amazed at the quality and workmanship that's in this unit. Its quickly become my go to tool for HVAC service and the backlit display is added bonus that was way overdue. Great job Fluke!!!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fluke- Just Better I've proved so many of the other brands wrong and inaccurate so many times that it makes me wonder how they're still in business. When your dealing with any kind of electricity your putting your life in the hands of the meter you use so shouldn't it be the toughest longest lasting most accurate meter there is? I do and won't use any other brand
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional meter I bought this meter because it is so very versatile and complete. It is a perfect meter for the HVAC work that I do, and it is compact enough to carry around easily. Far and above the best multi-meter that I have ever owned.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Texas heat approved The oil industry decline forced a career move to the air conditioning field. I always trusted Fluke in the oil industry and continue to as an HVAC technician. The user friendly and durable Fluke 116 is multimeter helps me diagnose units with ease. In Texas it's hot and attics are even hotter. There are times my phone won't work due to the heat but Fluke 116 is still going strong.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best meter for havc industry I bought this meter kit 7 years ago this is the best meter you can get for the money I use mine everyday and have had no issues its been dropped, used in the rain no issues, this meter has never failed me and its been though a lot if your looking to buy a new reliable meter this is the on to have
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I am a commercial HVAC controls technician/programmer. This is a great meter for startup/checkout and troubleshooting. The features I use most are AC/DC voltage testing and the ohms (buzzer) tester to check for continuity. The TL175 test leads that came with it are top quality as well as the 116 meter. I ordered the AC175 alligator clips separately to use with the TL175 test leads. There are a variety of accessories that can be used with this meter. The main thing is, when using a meter, you want one that you trust your life with and I have all confidence with the Fluke 116.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Temp probe to measure Super heat and Sub cool HVAC tool of the trade, could't do my job without it the 116 is a must. True RMS accurate. Add my Fluke clamp meter and it makes my day easy. Just watch the two LEDs and it tells you exactly what is going on with the unit, that is a good thing.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fluke 116 I used to own a fieldpiece before I made the switch to Fluke. This is one of the best meters I have owned. Durable, reliable, and rugged. The only thing I don't like is that the zipper broke on my bag after a few weeks of owning it.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and reliable I have had my Fluke 116 Digital Multimeter for a year now and love it. I use the multimeter for both business and personal use. The multimeter works accurately and can take some abuse. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I have been using this multimeter for a little over a year now and it has treated me very well. i use it for troubleshooting electrical issues on 200v ac circuits and 24v dc circuits on industrial converting machinery. the versatility of the unit makes it great for trouble shooting and checking thermocouple accuracy
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Product I bought this to replace my Fieldpiece. The main reason I purchased this was because I liked the autorange feature on the meter. I know you can get this on many brands and models but all of the technicians I work with swear by Fluke and one has been using this for quite some time and has been a great tool. So far I cannot say one bad thing about it. I don't need a multimeter often but this works much smoother than my FieldPiece which I now use on occasion at home.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor packaging labeling Firstly I should say that I bought this product because I needed a DMM for my engineering class. Having worked exclusively with a rather expensive array of Fluke products at my job before I quit to go back to school, the choice of brand was an easy one, even though it was three times more expensive than the model that I will be buying tomorrow. My problem with this product is the current measurement range. It does not say anywhere on the packaging (which I feverishly and enthusiastically destroyed as soon as I got home, preventing me from being able to return it) what the upper limit is and I had no idea that an instrument even existed with a range limit measured in micro amps. I do realize this is an oversight on my part but I did read the packaging, looking specifically for current range. I did not notice the u in front of the A on the dial until I got home. I am quite disappointed that I now have to buy a cheap DMM to take to class with me next week. The packaging for this product should contain the current range next to the voltage range, in my opinion. If I had the money, I would go back and buy another model with a higher current range but I am on a fairly tight budget so I will not be buying another fluke any time soon. I do believe you make excellent products and I was looking forward to flaunting all of my fluke gear in class so I thought you guys should know that I will not be flaunting your products all over the engineering department, instead, it will sit in my closet, unused until the end of time. I am not going to sell it on e-bay or anything because it is my only fluke and I will not part with it, even though I will not be using it, I am just weird like that I suppose.
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disapointed My Fluke 16 is the newest fluke meter I own and is not reading AC voltage correct. Tech support said it needed to be calibrated at 75-97 dollars....That's over 1/2 the cost of the meter. My other flukes are older, used in a more industrial setting and have not failed.
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, a solid product I have owned and used this meter regularly for a little over a year now. I purchased the industrial leads and large aligator clips (pricey $) along with the magnetic hanger ( a must ) I wasn't sure of the cost to performance ratio at first, but this meter has consistantly held up to my having never dropped it ( lie ) and functioned well beyond my other Fieldpiece meter/ clampon. I however would like to see a green backlight as the white light under some circumstances makes the meter reading difficult for myself. Again, acessories are pricey, but the meter is a solid product
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, a solid product I have owned and used this meter regularly for a little over a year now. I purchased the industrial leads and large aligator clips (pricey $) along with the magnetic hanger ( a must ) I wasn't sure of the cost to performance ratio at first, but this meter has consistantly held up to my having never dropped it ( lie ) and functioned well beyond my other Fieldpiece meter/ clampon. I however would like to see a green backlight as the white light under some circumstances makes the meter reading difficult for myself. Again, acessories are pricey, but the meter is a solid product
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome meter Fluke DMM's are the most consistent/trustworthy tool in my bag... i've tried the lesser DMM's in the past and will never buy anything other than Fluke. Save yourself alot of trouble and buy a fluke the first time... you won't be dissapointed!!!
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome meter Fluke DMM's are the most consistent/trustworthy tool in my bag... i've tried the lesser DMM's in the past and will never buy anything other than Fluke. Save yourself alot of trouble and buy a fluke the first time... you won't be dissapointed!!!
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meter A small compact meter the does just about everything an HVAC tech needs.
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meter A small compact meter the does just about everything an HVAC tech needs.
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it's designed to do. I've used this meter for 5 years for work, bought one for myself for side work. The magnet is great. It's perfect for HVAC, makes it easy to test for everything from 24VAC to 480 3 phase. The temp probe works great for subcooling and superheat. Have never had a problem. Wish the alligator clips were a little more beefy tho.
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it's designed to do. I've used this meter for 5 years for work, bought one for myself for side work. The magnet is great. It's perfect for HVAC, makes it easy to test for everything from 24VAC to 480 3 phase. The temp probe works great for subcooling and superheat. Have never had a problem. Wish the alligator clips were a little more beefy tho.
Date published: 2012-06-08
  • y_2019, m_11, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_fluke-116, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fluke
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 23.6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT