English

Fluke LVD2 Non-Contact Voltage Tester

Fluke LVD2 Non-Contact Voltage Tester is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 28.
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 26.85ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • LVD2
  • LVD2
  • LVD2
  • LVD2

Key features

  • Non-contact AC voltage tester and LED flashlight
  • Detects from 90 to 600 V AC
  • Features dual-sensitivity for two levels of detection
  • Indicates proximity to AC voltage source with blue light
  • Indicates you’re at the source with red light
  • Ultra-bright white LED light with 100,000-hour bulb life
  • Safety rated to CAT IV 600 V
  • Operating temperature 0°C to 50°C
  • AAA battery included

Product overview: Fluke LVD2 Non-Contact Voltage Tester

Fluke LVD2 Volt Light detects voltage without contact

LVD2 volt light, offered by Fluke combines a non-contact AC voltage detector and LED flashlight into one easy to use pen-style design. It features dual sensitivity detection, turning blue from 1” to 5” (2.54 cm to 12.7 cm) from the source and red when at the source. The LVD2 is a CAT IV 600 V rated and is suitable for commercial and industrial applications.

Reviews: Fluke LVD2 Non-Contact Voltage Tester

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy Tool Great product to keep in your pocket. Great for any job!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I purchased this for my Maintenance crews for easily identifying wires in the rats nest of boxes we have. Looking forward to the long life use.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dont leave home without it I had an older 1 , this new one is easy to find and us,
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied Customer I've had this device for a few years now. I only use it for home projects and I must say that it is a fantastic tool. It lights the dark corners of my switch boxes and light fixtures. It has never failed to give an accurate "hot" reading. The blue light is a bit unnecessary but who cares really. I don't understand why others give it such a low rating? If the battery dies too soon, well stop forgetting to turn it off when you aren't using it. If the switch keeps breaking, then maybe you are a little too rough with the switch. If you like a sound and a light to indicate a "hot" wire, then maybe you should have purchased a detector that says it has an audible signal. This one clearly doesn't claim to have it. For around the house uses, it's just great. It has never failed and I'm still on the same battery that I put in over two years ago. PS- remove the battery when you store the detector between uses. Every home project which a detector was necessary has been a breeze with this product. Please, if you are looking for a specific tool for a specific job, make sure you purchase the tool that you actually need. This tool was purchased for home use and it's absolutely perfect.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This tester is a joke! I should have listened to my peers. I am an electrical technician where the bulk of my job is constructing control panels. In my last job, I was working at a water treatment facility. For the meter, I used the Fluke 789 process meter which helped me program logic controllers and calibrate sensors. With my experience, the LVD2 is supposed to be for industrial applications; but, it just does not cut it. The problems with the LVD2 are: the device is too small (I am concerned for my safety inside a three-phase approx. 480V panel looking for blown breakers or fuses.), the device really is a flashlight with a gimmick of a poor voltage tester with a value of less than ten dollars and sold for 40, the LEDs are too faint (The lights are best seen with the lights turned off.), the sensitivity quickly deteriorates to the thing being just an expensive flashlight (most energy fields are attenuated with all the metal inside the panels.), the flashlight lens gets chaffed very quickly, it only works at detecting voltage by touching the wire in question (I suppose this helps in panels with many energized wires). But, without a second alarm, even in well lit inside areas, the tester's LEDs are hard to see (The blue LED is just extra since it works when I touch a hot). To improve the LVD2: the tester needs to be larger, made more rugged, the blue LED needs to be a brighter light (maybe yellow), needs to have a beeper or vibrator (which would add a second battery). A neat suggestion is to have it detect and follow a tracing signal. I think it would not be a stretch to make a circuit breaker finder with a voltage tester. Yes, the flashlight is a cool idea but its lens needs to be recessed into the end. Yes, I should have listened to my peers and purchased the 1AC-II. As far as this item, it is just junk and I wish I can trade it for the 1-AC-II.
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LVD2 Volt Light I have purchased 4 of these over the past year and like them a lot but, the on off button on the end continuously becomes unreliable and the LVD2 stops working, If you would put a different activation switch on the LVD2 it would be great. I won't be purchasing any more of these due to the unreliability of the on off button. The size and weight are Ideal for the shirt pocket and I like the sensitivity due to the fact that it can pick up voltage behind sheetrock. but alas, the switch is the downfall.
Date published: 2015-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Missing sound Alert Good idea, but missing sound alert. Maybe in next model....
Date published: 2015-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome tool all by. itself, a must have. Had mine for several months as a safety device its sensitivity is great because i like to be safe not sorry, than be dead. if there is power it tells you, i dont work electricity with my eyes closed, lights are good , until im out in the bright sun, then it can be tricky
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Useless waste of money I'm a huge fan of fluke but this volt sick is really disappointing, paid. $60 odd dollars for it first of all it doesn't have sound seriously ??? Why would you not have a tone on a volt stick. Next the blue light just makes you second guess yourself it's unnecessary and to top it off mine broke after only having it for a month I don't do any heavy work I haven't dropped it. Thought fluke would have made minor changes from their previous volt stick which is great but no let's make a new product which is nothing like the previous which worked perfectly fine .... Logic !!
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from compact unit a positive Very sensitive, the blue light ? go figure I don't get the reason for having it. would be nice if you could turn off the light to save battery power. It does still indicate live wires even after the torch fails due to battery wastage. Could make some positive changes to suit use for electricians. Ottlec Electrical Brisbane Australia
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tester - after learning what the colors mean I've had this tester for a couple of weeks now and have learned to use it effectively. It is different from most NCV testers in that it gives you a proximity alert (blue light) and a positive contact (red light) indication. That is useful when trying to locate specific wires. The LED light is a nice feature. It really helps to not have to hold a flashlight and the tester in dark rooms - and it also works as an indicator to show you the tester is turned on.
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tester - after learning what the colors mean I've had this tester for a couple of weeks now and have learned to use it effectively. It is different from most NCV testers in that it gives you a proximity alert (blue light) and a positive contact (red light) indication. That is useful when trying to locate specific wires. The LED light is a nice feature. It really helps to not have to hold a flashlight and the tester in dark rooms - and it also works as an indicator to show you the tester is turned on.
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LVD2 Volt pen I would love to write reviews on Fluke products all day as I'm a BIG fan of fluke products. The LVD2 volt pen is a bit over the top for what most sparkys need, I like the idea of the white LED light but would like to see an on/off switch as the light zaps the battery. I fail to understand the Blue LED light, as again most sparkys just want to know if a power source is live, so I don't get that part at all... The LVD2 is overly sensitive and even picks up the static from your hands and fingers if you touch the tip end it realy is that sensitive.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LVD2 Volt pen I would love to write reviews on Fluke products all day as I'm a BIG fan of fluke products. The LVD2 volt pen is a bit over the top for what most sparkys need, I like the idea of the white LED light but would like to see an on/off switch as the light zaps the battery. I fail to understand the Blue LED light, as again most sparkys just want to know if a power source is live, so I don't get that part at all... The LVD2 is overly sensitive and even picks up the static from your hands and fingers if you touch the tip end it realy is that sensitive.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too sensitive So this is a neat tool if you want to have a blue/red light on a stick, but as far as locating something electrical, it's not going to help. As an example, there's a laptop on my wooden desk, and the entire desk registers blue on the LVD2 showing voltage. I'll give it to a little nephew and tell them it can detect ghosts or something... that's about all it's good for.
Date published: 2012-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too sensitive So this is a neat tool if you want to have a blue/red light on a stick, but as far as locating something electrical, it's not going to help. As an example, there's a laptop on my wooden desk, and the entire desk registers blue on the LVD2 showing voltage. I'll give it to a little nephew and tell them it can detect ghosts or something... that's about all it's good for.
Date published: 2012-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very dissapointed I have to say, I am a real fluke fan, I have a fluke 179, fluke 87, fluke 28, and 337 clamp meter. As well I have the 1AC1 detector and the 1AC2 as well. This unit is overly sensitive, and as a test tool is not comparable to the 1AC1. No sound, short battery life, and overly sensitive.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very dissapointed I have to say, I am a real fluke fan, I have a fluke 179, fluke 87, fluke 28, and 337 clamp meter. As well I have the 1AC1 detector and the 1AC2 as well. This unit is overly sensitive, and as a test tool is not comparable to the 1AC1. No sound, short battery life, and overly sensitive.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An indispensable tool in my collection As an elevator repairman, this detector takes the guesswork out of working on rats nests in unkept industrial areas. The LED Flashlight and ability to detect neutral and hot lines makes this product superior to other brands and models. I'm rough on this thing and it hasn't failed me yet. Great product!
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An indispensable tool in my collection As an elevator repairman, this detector takes the guesswork out of working on rats nests in unkept industrial areas. The LED Flashlight and ability to detect neutral and hot lines makes this product superior to other brands and models. I'm rough on this thing and it hasn't failed me yet. Great product!
Date published: 2012-06-07
  • y_2020, m_5, d_31, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_fluke-lvd2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fluke
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 28.63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT