English

Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter

Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 83.
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 24.78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter
  • Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter
  • Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter
  • Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter

Key features

  • True RMS Digital Multimeter with detachable display
  • Measures up to 1000 VAC and DC
  • Measures up to 10 A (20 A for 30 seconds)
  • Provides a 10,000 μF capacitance range
  • Measures frequency to 50 kHz
  • Includes a built-in thermometer to measure temperature without a separate instrument

Product overview: Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter

Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter gives you ultimate flexibility in tough measurement situations

The Fluke 233 Digital Multimeter with its removable display gives you the flexibility to take measurements in hard to reach places or in areas with restricted access. You can be in two places at once and reduce the risk of arc flash by separating yourself from hazardous measurement situations. Just connect the meter to the test point and then place the display in a location up to 10 meters (33 ft.) away where you can see it. No more having to stretch into tight spots or hard to reach locations to take measurements. No more having to hold both the meter and the test leads to make a measurement. The Fluke 233 is ideal for any application where the measurement point is separated from controls or where you can't stay close to the meter during measurements due to hazards, moving machinery or in clean rooms. Plus, it features True RMS AC voltage and current for accurate measurements on non-linear signals.

Other useful features:

  • Radio transmitter automatically turns off the when the display is connected to the meter so you can use it as a conventional multimeter
  • Easy to read display with large digits and bright backlight
  • Delivers approximately 400 hours of battery life
  • Offers resistance, continuity, and diode test
  • Features a removable magnetic display that can be conveniently mounted where it can be easily seen
  • Low power wireless technology allows the display to be moved up to 10 meters (33 ft.) away from the point of measurement, without causing measurement interference
  • Allows you to take measurements without holding the meter, to improve visual focus on probes and augment safe electrical measurements
  • Provides auto power-off to maximize battery life
  • Features Min/Max, and Average recording to capture variations automatically

Specifications: Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter

Accuracy specifications
DC voltageRange0.1 mV to 1000 V
Accuracy0.25% + 2
AC voltageRange0.1 mV to 1000 V
Accuracy1.0% + 3
DC currentRange1 mA to 10 A
Accuracy1.0% + 3
AC currentRange1 mA to 10 A
Accuracy1.5% + 3
ResistanceRange0.1 Ω to 40 MΩ
CapacitanceRange1 nF to 9999 μF
Resolution1nF
FrequencyRange5 Hz to 50 kHz
Resolution0.01 Hz
Counts6000
Temperature-40°C to +400°C
PowerAA batteries: Three for main body two for display
Battery life400 hours
Wireless frequency2.4 GHz ISM Band 10 meter range
Safety ratingCAT IV 600 V , CAT III 1000 V
General specifications
Basic featuresAC true-rmsYes
RangingAuto/manual
DisplayBacklightYes
Data storageMin/Max/AvgYes
Other featuresBattery typeAA alkaline
Removable displayYes
Warranty and protectionSafety ratingCAT IV 600 V/CAT III 1000 V
External protectionRubber overmold
WarrantyThree-years
Size (H x W x L)5.3 x 9.3 x 19.3 cm (2.08 x 3.6 x 7.6 in)
Weight604 g (1.3 Ib)

Models: Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter

Fluke 233
Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter
Buy it

Reviews: Fluke 233 Remote Display Digital Multimeter

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!!!! I have had this multimeter for two years and cant put it down. Great Buy.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Data at a distance I didn't know this meter existed until I saw in manual for automotive electrical work. The ability to monitor readings from distances that far exceed any probe wire lengths make this indispensable in automotive work. I wish Fluke would make this version for their 88v.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Remote Display Works Well Remote display is a nice feature to have when you need flexible mobility to read the display.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Daily Driver for Multimeter I've been using my Fluke 233 meter for about 2 years and love it. The flexibility of having the removable display makes it great for both the lab and the field. The batteries due tend to run out quicker than with my non-removable display meters, but that only occurs when using the wireless feature all the time (and even then it still lasts me months at a time).
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Removable Display My Fluke 233 is used in hot and cold weather conditions with lots of abuse. As to date it works fine with no problems. The removable display is nice in when taking reading on a relay panel that requires being in two places at once I can just take the display with me where I go.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Convenient! Very handy for reading outputs while adjusting monitors. The magnet on the monitor is strong enough as well. My only issue is that you can't Zero or Rel out any of the reading ranges.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard on batteries I've had this meter for some time now, I love the concept, I use the temp probe when charging a/c systems to monitor vent temp. I put the the display next to my gauges under the hood. The problem is it eats batteries like crazy! It seemed every time I needed it I had to get new batteries.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Versatility I use the multimeter in an industrial setting onboard a ship and have found that the remote display is excellent for condition monitoring where the multimeter and the user cant be in the same place at the same time. Don't leave the batteries in the unit if you don't plan on using it for a while.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unreal Perfect for aftermarket installations, there is nothing worthy of comparison. There are time when hands are not even seen, so the remote display is a god send. You can't even imagine the positions where this will you you able to figure yourself out expeditiously. On the note of performance, every accessory is flawless. it the confidence of knowing no trace is left that gets the job done for customers. When they know for a fact how anything came to be, most are left speechless. It will pinpoint problems, never causes them. It even feels sturdy.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome meter, worth every penny I have had this meter for over two years and still works perfectly. The removable screen comes in very handy. I also invested in the Iflex amp clamp for this meter and it works perfect.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Being able to read a voltage remotely... PRICELESS I have used the Fluke 233 when I work alone. Almost as good as a helper.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now, Can't Live Without It! Thought the detachable/remote display was going to be just added feature I could live with or without. After using this meter for a short time, I can honestly say I don't know how I worked without this for so long. Having the ability to have the display right in line with the device under test and the bulk of the meter in a safe, secondary position is just awesome.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool! I bought this tool DVOM while I was taking a automotive technology course. And now it's one of the best in my toolbox. I have used to test my battery, the ph in my radiator and the draw on my RC quadcopters.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fluke review of 233/a I have used your products most of my 40 years in the automotive repair field and never had anything but success with my fluke tools. they have consistently allowed me to complete my tasks on time and with confidence in my diagnostics. now I have the new 233/a with the remote head and it is truly a great step forward in ease of use. with the screen where I can see it, I can now focus on the data instead of my body position under the dash. guess i'll just have to retire the ol fluke 87!! thanks for all the great products that have made my job a lot less challenging.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Multi meter I've ever owned! Hands down convenience with this meter. I purchased this meter for my job as a Traffic Signal Systems Operator and couldn't be happier. The remote display is so handy it makes the other techs jealous when they have to fumble around trying to hold their meter and i can just set mine down. I use it on a regular basis and it never fails. Great product to buy from the beginner to advanced techs.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remote display is great. I use my 233 all the time. I have not had a problem with battery drain. I really like the remote display . I can take readings without having to get fully suited up in arc flack gear. Makes my job much safer. I have two so can take voltage and amp reading at the same time. Have used Fluke products for over 30 years.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features This was a great idea for a meter now the meter is right where I can read it.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great When Working Alone! I mainly use mine for home repair (ac and electrical) and vehicle service. Has all the great features of a good DMM plus the remote screen. The best use is connecting to a outlet and taking the screen with you to the breaker panel so you know right there if the circuit is on/off. In fact, I liked this so much I convinced my company to buy some of these.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remote display is awesome Bought this about a year and a half ago and this meter has been the best I've ever used. The remote display has made life so much easier. Nice to be able to have it in your hand while monitoring something else as well.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remote Display!!!!!!! Greatest feature hands down is the remote display. Super handy when trying to get a reading on something that requires you to be in front of the machine with your meter hooked up in back. Have used this numerous times and it has proved invaluable.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What!!!??? I bought this meter over a year ago for work and all I can say, Just Awesome! After I got mine the guys in the shop saw it and when I removed the display the reaction was the same word, WHAT!!??? Let me see that! Of coarse we bought all the maintenance techs one! I have taken it home and shown to others in the electrical and HVAC trade and still the same reaction, WHAT!!!???. Let me see that.. then its "I got to have one!" This is a great product and has served me well in troubleshooting equipment. Thanks FLUKE! Mike C.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. This DMM works great for us. Being that we only have one Technician on 2nd and 3rd shifts, the remote display feature helps tremendously when troubleshooting. The magnet on the back of the display is a nice touch.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Free battery drain fix I have figured out a very simple but effective way to stop the battery drain on the 233. All you have to do is use the end of a wire tie and insert it between the battery and the contact..for the display it can be left in and the lid can still be slid shut ,,can be left in with display back on base... For the base,,,,,the easiest way is to drill thru the battery covers so that you can stick the end of the wire tie into the battery compartmen......this way you don't have to take the cover off every time... Sure beats taking the battery's out every time you use it!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best meter ive ever had! 2yrs old same batteries Maybe the first generation models ate batteries but mine is 2 years old and its still on the factory batteries and i use it near daily. I was worried there would be a lag time because if the wireless display but not at all. The absolute best invention for searching out intermittent shorts or opens or added resistance in wiring. Hook up to the fluctuating circut and take your display with you as you ts the circuit.
Date published: 2015-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great features, Horrible Battery Life! We love the meter itself and the idea, but the battery life is really bad. There are a ton of batteries in it and they have to be changed to often. This would definitely be a better candidate to be a rechargeable battery or something. Otherwise the product is as good as all Fluke meters. If fluke will give me a choice I would love to trade this meter across for a non-removable display just to get away from the battery issues since we LOVE most fluke meters! Best meter company as far as I am concerned. Thanks
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, Good meter, has drawbacks We have quite a few of these meters at work and they are great, especially for reading hazardous voltages safely. They are also very nicely priced with just about every feature of more expensive meters (the basics are all there). The biggest drawback is the battery life. We use them for extended periods (sometimes 8-12 hours a day) and the batteries do not last long. We've mitigated this problem a bit by using rechargeable batteries. niMH batteries have to be changed out more often, but better than burning through regular alkaline batteries. That was the only drawback on the first batch we bought. Now, the newer ones have a different sleep mode that will not allow us to wake the meter after it goes to sleep, the display has to be redocked or sleep mode has to be disabled all together. This is very annoying when the display goes out and we have to lockout high voltage just to get it back, sort of defeats the purpose of the remote display. Sure, it can be disabled but then we'll just burn through even more batteries. A very poor decision to make this change in my opinion. 
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this meter I am an aircraft electrician. And when I first saw this meter, I couldnt stop thinking of the 100 different ways I could use this thing. So I bought it. WOW !!!! Best investment ever !! I could hook it up to a wire in the back of a A320 passenger compartment, and sit in the cockpit and do what I need, and no more running back and forth to read the meter. I am maxing out the distance of the meter, but it still reads. I use regular energizer batteries, and the last pair lasted me 4 months.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Supplementary info for battery life In the supplementary manual, it says "Battery Saver™(Sleep Mode) Units with S/N >225000000 The Meter powers-down (Sleep mode) if there is no function change, range change, or button push for 20 minutes. To wake up the Meter, Remate the display or turn the function switch." In sleep mode, there are 2 situations when I wake up the Meter; 1. With the display docked 2. With the display not docked. Fluke did not specify whether under situation 2; i.e. with the display not docked and when the Meter is in sleep mode, will turning the function switch wake the meter up? If yes, then it is a lot more convenient. If no, that means I will have to dock the display to wake it up and that means bringing the display or the meter from one location to the other to dock the display. This is an inconvenience but at least it solves the problem of battery drain. So, for S/N >225000000, could Fluke or anyone with S/N >225000000 please help clarify whether when in sleep mode and the display is NOT docked, will the meter wake up just by turning the function dial or no, the meter will NOT wake up just by turning the function dial. In other words, the only way to wake up the meter when in sleep mode and when the display is not docked is to go back and dock the display. Thank you.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New units seem to have no battery draining issues For those who have read all the bad reviews on battery life, don't let that scare you off. I and a coworker both got 233's approaching 2 months ago. I just pulled the batteries out of the meter and remote display and checked voltage on them. They were all between 1.55.-1.58 volts. These are energizer alkaline batteries. After 2 months, the batteries are still reading about what they would out of the package. It is apparent that some type of design revision has happened and made it into production. It would be really nice if Fluke would come in and detail the changes they made Other than that it's a really nice meter to use. I work in a lot of electrical cabinets that are in confined and not very well lit areas. The remote back lit display really makes things easy and a lot safer. Also being able to take readings while testing machinery under load from the operators station while your meter is still back in the electrical cabinet is a huge time saver. I definitely recommend this meter, however you will need to make sure that the one you buy is one of the revised models. I'm not sure if all the initial battery eaters have been pulled from shelves and recalled. Again, if Fluke could post a reply to this and clear that up that would help out the end user. The last thing we need to be doing is troubleshooting our life critical test equipment in the field or jacking around with batteries.
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New units seem to have no battery draining issues For those who have read all the bad reviews on battery life, don't let that scare you off. I and a coworker both got 233's approaching 2 months ago. I just pulled the batteries out of the meter and remote display and checked voltage on them. They were all between 1.55.-1.58 volts. These are energizer alkaline batteries. After 2 months, the batteries are still reading about what they would out of the package. It is apparent that some type of design revision has happened and made it into production. It would be really nice if Fluke would come in and detail the changes they made Other than that it's a really nice meter to use. I work in a lot of electrical cabinets that are in confined and not very well lit areas. The remote back lit display really makes things easy and a lot safer. Also being able to take readings while testing machinery under load from the operators station while your meter is still back in the electrical cabinet is a huge time saver. I definitely recommend this meter, however you will need to make sure that the one you buy is one of the revised models. I'm not sure if all the initial battery eaters have been pulled from shelves and recalled. Again, if Fluke could post a reply to this and clear that up that would help out the end user. The last thing we need to be doing is troubleshooting our life critical test equipment in the field or jacking around with batteries.
Date published: 2013-06-08
  • y_2020, m_3, d_29, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_83
  • loc_en_US, sid_fluke-233, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fluke
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT