Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™

Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™ is rated 5.0 out of 5 by 23.
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 24.46ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™ With Fluke Connect™ | Fluke
  • Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™ With Fluke Connect™ | Fluke
  • Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™ With Fluke Connect™ | Fluke
  • Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™ With Fluke Connect™ | Fluke

Key features

  • Ultimate troubleshooting tool for electricians and instrumentation professionals
  • Combines the functionality of a loop calibrator with the power of a precision 1000 V, 440 mA True-RMS digital multimeter
  • Optional IR3000FC module for wireless data logging capabilities via Fluke Connect® mobile App
  • Includes 24 V loop power supply
  • Features a very large dual display with enhanced two-level backlight brightness settings

Product overview: Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™

Fluke 789 ProcessMeter doubles your troubleshooting power and is Fluke Connect-enabled

The Fluke 789 ProcessMeter is the ultimate troubleshooting tool for electricians and instrumentation professionals. It combines the functionality of a loop calibrator with the power of a digital multimeter, and the wireless capabilities of Fluke Connect connectivity with optional IR3000FC module. The 789 has a display that's not only twice as large as the Fluke 787B, but also twice as bright with two levels of backlighting. And its built-in, selectable 250 ohm HART® resistor eliminates the need to carry a separate resistor.

The 789 also has a 24-Volt loop supply, which reduces the need to carry a separate power supply when doing offline transmitter testing. You can add an optional temperature measurement module and the wireless data logging capabilities of the Fluke Connect™ mobile app to log data wirelessly to your smart phone and review it from a remote location. So now process technicians can do a lot more while carrying a lot less.

Other useful features:

  • Includes 0% and 100% buttons to toggle between 4 and 20 mA sourcing for a quick span check
  • Provides all standard DMM capabilities including frequency measurement to 20 kHz, Min/Max/Average/Hold/Relative modes, and diode test and continuity beeper
  • Simultaneous displays mA and % of scale readings
  • Provides 20 mA DC current source/loop calibrator/simulator
  • Offers manual step (100%, 25%, Coarse, Fine) plus auto step and auto ramp
  • Delivers 0.1% dc voltage accuracy and 0.05% dc current accuracy
  • Provides 1200 ohm drive capability on mA source
  • Offers HART mode setting with loop power and a built-in 250 ohm resistor
  • Offers externally accessible fuses and batteries for easy replacement

Specifications: Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™

Specifications
Current measurementRange0-1 A AC or DC
Resolution1 mA
Accuracy0.2% + 2 LSD (DC)
Range0-30 mA
Resolution0.001 mA
Accuracy0.05% + 2 lSD
Current sourcingRange0-20 mA or 4-20 mA
Resolution0.05% of span
Drive capability24 V Compliance or 1200 Ω @ 20 mA
Frequencyto 19.999 kHz, 0.005% + 1 LSD
ContinuityBeeps for resistance < 100 Ω
Voltage measurementRange0-1000 V AC (true-rms) or DC
Resolution0.1 mV to 1.0 V
Accuracy0.1% Rdg + 1 LSD (VDC)
Resistance measurementto 40 MΩ, 0.2% + 1 LSD
Diode test2.0 V shoes diode voltage drop
Display current and % of spanYes
Auto Step, Auto RampYes
Environmental Specifications
Operating temperature-20°C to 55°C
Storage temperature-40°C to 60°C
Humidity (without condensation)95% up to 30°C
75% up to 40°C
45% up to 50°C
35% up to 55°C
Temperature coefficient0.05 x (specified accuracy) per °C (for temperatures < 18°C or > 28°C)
Safety Specifications
Electrical safetyDesigned in accordance with IEC 1010-1, ANSI/ISA S82.01-1994 and CAN/CSA C22.2 No 1010.1-92
Overvoltage categoryIEC 1010-1 CAT III 1000 V
IEC 1010-1 CAT IV 600 V
Maximum voltage1000 V RMS
Mechanical and General Specifications
Size (H x W x L)50 x 100 x 203 mm (1.25 x 3.41 x 7.35 in)
Weight610 g (1.6 lbs)
Batteries4 AA alkaline batteries
Warranty3 years
Battery life140 hours typical (measurement), 10 hours typical (sourcing 20 mA)
Shock and vibrationRandom, 2 g, 5-500 Hz
1 meter drop test

Models: Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™

Fluke-789
Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™
Buy it

Includes:

  • AC175 Alligator Clips
  • Four (4) AA 1.5 V alkaline batteries (installed)
  • TL71 safety-designed test lead set

Reviews: Fluke 789 ProcessMeter™

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Meter I have had a Fluke 789 for about 8 years. It has served me faithfully without fail. My company recently was generous enough to offer me a new meter. I chose another 789 because I love it. Fluke makes superior products, and I will not use any other than Fluke.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 789 Works Great For Me. I am a Controls Engineer/Technician who also does instruments and PLC input/output checkout. I had a 787 for some time, but then got this one, the 789. This does everything I need and the loop power for instruments is *very* useful. If you do 4-20mA instruments and all the other standard things then this is what you need.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for every electrical application As an Electrical Designer/Programmer this model fulfills every need I have when working out in the field. Whether testing new equipment or troubleshooting old, I can do it all with a Fluke Process Meter
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meter As an Automation Engineer, I use this meter all the time for both testing equipment in the shop before commissioning and troubleshooting systems in the field. It is an indispensable tool when dealing with analog signals and also useful as a standard multimeter. The only meter that I carry.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comes with the features I need for automation. Bought this meter to test and troubleshoot automation systems. 24V power supply and ma test capabilities make this as all inclusive meter for industrial elec. applications. Love it!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCKS!! IN MY OPINION, THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST PROCESS METER THAT CAN BE BOUGHT ON A BUDGET! THIS UNIT IS PACKED FULL OF FEATURES SUCH AS FLUKE CONNECT, HART COMPATIBILITY, SOURCING, ETC.!! IT CAN DO ALMOST ANYTHING IN THE FIELD THAT AN E&I TECH WOULD NEED TO DO!!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Features I am an I&C System Designer / Engineer / Project Manager. This is about as good as you can get in a bar style process multi-meter. All the functions that it does have work accurate, fast, precise, etc. The meter itself is also very rugged. You can source/simulate 4-20mA (very accurately), and has the ability to loop power which is great. However, it lacks the ability to source 0-10VDC like the Fluke 773. At this price point, it should be included on the 789. It was not spec'd as having it, so I did not deduct a star. Also, I feel Fluke should develop a specialized clamp probe accessory just for the 787/789 to measure 4-20mA signals (and that it actually shows up 4-20mA, and not mV or other range requiring me to convert). I do not believe Fluke currently offers a current probe accessory that can work in that range, but would be appropriate for someone wanting to work with a 787/789 and process signals.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Fluke 789 ProcessMeter is a great tool for Automation / Process Engineers I use mine all the time for checking mA loops and load cells. I find the loop power function particularly useful for setting up a new transmitter before leaving the workshop. This meter is the only one I need in my tool bag. As with all of the Fluke equipment I have come across, the build quality is great and it is a joy to use. Check out the Fluke Milliamp Process Clamp Meters if you need to check a loop without breaking into it.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Fluke 789 ProcessMeter is a great tool for Automation / Process Engineers I use mine all the time for checking mA loops and load cells. I find the loop power function particularly useful for setting up a new transmitter before leaving the workshop. This meter is the only one I need in my tool bag. As with all of the Fluke equipment I have come across, the build quality is great and it is a joy to use. Check out the Fluke Milliamp Process Clamp Meters if you need to check a loop without breaking into it.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Quality in the Market Dear all, This is the best quality product money can buy. It is reliable.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Quality in the Market Dear all, This is the best quality product money can buy. It is reliable.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great asset This meter is the "Cats Meow!" This line of meters has always been rugged and tough, but now with this new guy and the HART addition.. How could the best get better... Well, they did it! I use this guy everyday even when I'm not loop checking or calibrating a device... all around great tool! The IR interface is a cool feature, I am waiting for the IT guy to install FLUKE View FORMS.. can't wait to try that out..
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great asset This meter is the "Cats Meow!" This line of meters has always been rugged and tough, but now with this new guy and the HART addition.. How could the best get better... Well, they did it! I use this guy everyday even when I'm not loop checking or calibrating a device... all around great tool! The IR interface is a cool feature, I am waiting for the IT guy to install FLUKE View FORMS.. can't wait to try that out..
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meter, I use it every day!I I'm an Industrial journeyman electrician in a papermill. I use this meter everyday in troudleshooting and instrument calibration . GREAT METER !!!!!!
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meter, I use it every day!I I'm an Industrial journeyman electrician in a papermill. I use this meter everyday in troudleshooting and instrument calibration . GREAT METER !!!!!!
Date published: 2012-06-07
  • y_2019, m_11, d_12, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_fluke-789, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fluke
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 26.27ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT