Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter

Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 103.
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54.9ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter | Fluke
  • Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter | Fluke
  • Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter | Fluke
  • Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter | Fluke

Key features

  • Identify complex signal problems fast
  • Supports accurate measurements on VFDs using a low-pass filter
  • Captures intermittents as fast as 250 µS with Peak Capture

Product overview: Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter

The Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter provides the resolution and accuracy to efficiently troubleshoot motor drives, plant automation, power distribution, and electromechanical equipment even in loud, high-energy, and high-altitude locations.

Identify complex electrical problems fast

  • Supports accurate measurements on VFDs using a low-pass filter
  • Captures intermittents as fast as 250 µS with Peak Capture
  • Blocks high-frequency, high-energy noise generated by large drive systems with specially designed shielding

Removable holster with built in test lead and probe storage for convenience

  • Holds probe during testing for easier viewing

Offers relative mode to remove test lead interference from low ohms measurements

  • Improves accuracy of low-resistance measurements

Safety features

  • All the inputs in the 87V are updated to the third edition of the EN 61010-1 to 1000 V CAT III and 600 V CAT IV
  • Designed to withstand spikes of more than 8000 V
  • Audible Input Alert warning against wrong use of input jacks

Additional tool features

  • Designed and built in the U.S.
  • Comes with a lifetime warranty
  • Easy access door for fast battery changes without breaking the calibration seal
  • 6,000 counts, 3-3/4 digit resolution, or 20,000 counts, 4-1/2 digit—resolution
  • Fits into an optional magnetic hanger for easy set-up and viewing while freeing your hands for other tasks
  • Includes an analog bar graph for fast changing or unstable signals
  • Presents a large digit display with bright, two-level backlight for easier reading in low light
  • Delivers 0.05% DC accuracy
  • Provides 10,000 µF capacitance range for components and motor caps
  • Auto and manual ranging for maximum flexibility
  • Holds readings on display for safe viewing after removing probes using Touch Hold technology

Specifications: Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter

Specifications
Voltage DCMaximum voltage1000 V
Accuracy±(0.05% + 1)
Maximum resolution10 µV
Voltage ACMaximum voltage1000 V
Accuracy±(0.7% + 2) True RMS
AC bandwidth20 kHz with low pass filter; 3 dB @ 1 kHz
Maximum resolution0.1 mV
Current DCMaximum amps10 A (20 A for 30 seconds maximum)
Amps accuracy±(0.2% + 2)
Maximum resolution0.01 µA
Current ACMaximum amps10 A (20 A for 30 seconds maximum)
Amps accuracy±(1.0% + 2) True RMS
Maximum resolution0.1 µA
ResistanceMaximum resistance50 MΩ
Accuracy±(0.2% + 1)
Maximum resolution0.1 Ω
CapacitanceMaximum capacitance9,999 µF
accuracy±(1% + 2)
Maximum resolution0.01 nF
FrequencyMaximum frequency200 kHz
Accuracy±(0.005% + 1)
Maximum resolution0.01 Hz
Duty cycleMaximum duty cycle99.9%
Accuracy±(0.2% per kHz + 0.1%)
Maximum resolution0.1%
Temperature measurement–200.0 °C – 1090 °C
–328.0 °F – 1994.0 °F
excluding probe
80 BK temperature probe–40.0 °C – 260 °C
–40.0 °F – 500 °F, 2.2 °C or 2% whichever is greater
ConductanceMaximum conductance60.00 nS
Accuracy±(1.0% + 10)
Maximum resolution0.01 nS
DiodeRange3 V
Resolution1 mV
Accuracy±(2% + 1)
Duty cycle rangeAccuracyWithin ±(0.2% per kHz + 0.1%)
Environmental Specifications
Operating temperature–20 °C to + 55 °C
Storage temperature–40 °C to + 60 °C
Humidity (without condensation)0% – 90% (0 °C – 35 °C)
0% – 70% (35 °C – 55 °C)
Operating Altitude2000 m
Safety Specifications
Overvoltage categoryEN 61010–1 to 1000 V CAT III, 600V CAT IV
Agency approvalsCE, CSA, RCM
Mechanical and General Specifications
Size201 x 98 x 52 mm (with holster)
Weight355 g
624 g – with holster
DisplayDigital6000 counts updates 4/sec.
19,999 counts in high–resolution mode
Analog32 segments, updates 40/sec
Frequency19,999 counts, updates 3/sec at > 10 Hz
WarrantyLifetime
Battery LifeAlkaline~400 hours typical, without backlight
Shock1 Meter drop per IEC 61010–1:2001
VibrationPer MIL–PRF–28800 for a Class 2 instrument

Models: Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter

Fluke 87V
Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter
Buy it

Includes:

  • TL75 Test Leads
  • AC175 Alligator Clips
  • Holster
  • 9V Battery (Installed)
  • 80BK Temperature Probe

Reviews: Fluke 87V Industrial Multimeter

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Time will tell I had my company buy this specific meter to conduct ground resistance measurements and following the directions I still can't get a 0.00 ohms reading shen I short the test leads.. Also The test leads supplied had very tiny points. Now I haven't really looked to see if I can remove the plastic and find standard length tips underneath, but the log leads are great wish they had 3/4" probe length.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best. Been using 87v models for over 10 years. New employer required personnel to purchase tools on their personal dime. Didn't hesisitate to get this model. Even though cheaper units are available. I preach Fluke to other industrial mechanics. The electricians already know about the trust in Fluke. Mainly 5 star review. -1 for the test leads. I have replaced too many sets simply because they quit working. Not pleased with the test leads. Fluke, you can do better in this aspect.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best quality meter on the market, HANDS DOWN. Got this last month, hands down the best meter you can get. I've been using another brand for awhile, getting some flaky readings for too long. Got this and it's been on the money now with no need for multiple readings to get averages. It's Fluke or get out for me now.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The good and bad of the 87V I recently researched several Fluke brand multi-meters because I need a quality multi-meter. The Fluke brand is the only brand I was considering, its USA made, etc., quality design and parts, warranty and great reputation. I think there are other good meter brands and some of them have features I wish Fluke would consider. I suppose what I really want is a Fluke 87-6. This review is just my opinion of the 87V, as it is currently manufactured. My opinion is only about its features. I have no issue with the quality of the product. I got much of my information from Fluke's printed information, talking to Fluke reps and retailers, YouTube reviews, verified Amazon purchases, etc. The 87V has features I like, but is also missing some features I feel are very important. Other Fluke models I was considering lack too many features, or have issues the 87V doesn't. So, I narrowed my choice of a meter to either this model, possibly a new Fluke model, or perhaps one of their competitors, like Agilent. I know litle about Agilent meters, but due to the lack of features I do want on the 87V, I am going to at least see what Agilent has to offer. There may also be other brands I should consider also, but I have no clue what brands those should be. As for the 87V, I don't know how to give it features it doesn't have, and that is why I will be looking at some other brands. But I'm wondering if there is any manufacturer that makes a meter with all the features, accuracy, and quality of the 87V meter, but without any of its shortcomings? Btw, I don't mean that to read as an invitation to any brand bashing. I also agree with the guy on YouTube's EEVBLOG, who said that for the high price of Fluke meters they should give you the magnet-strap. Furthermore, I say give me the magnet-strap and keep the leads, or drop the meter's price and let me pick my own accessories. This policy of Fluke's making you purchase each and every extra accessory is redundant. They give you test leads and alligator clips with a meter but they might not be the accessories you would choose -- perhaps you already have them. So, just as you must pay for accessories you do want, Fluke is forcing you to pay for accessories you don't want. You should be able to purchase this model without any leads. I'm sure that would lower the cost. FLUKE 87V, SIX GOOD FEATURES: 1. The 87V has a greater diode voltage test range 2.4V test of an LED. 2. A louder audible continuity signal 3. Easy to read buttons. 4. 41/2 digits display. 5. The 9V battery gives better protection against leakage than double AA batteries (when batteries are left in a meter for extended periods of time without usage). 6. It has fairly decent shockproof protection. FLUKE 87V FOUR BAD FEATURES: 1. One of the worst issues with the Fluke 87V model, is that it has self tapping metal screws going into the plastic case halves that can strip the plastic half. Combining dissimilar materials almost always causes some kind of a problem, sooner or later. 2. It needs more protection from rain (you cant always choose your test environment, for example, outdoor automotive or marine diagnosis). 3. It needs glow in the dark buttons, that activate with the backlight "if" one chooses to turn it on (again, you cant always choose when or where you have to use a tool). 4. It has no on/off button, so you can set the meter to test function, before turning the meter on (a very desirable feature, that many have an issue with) If Fluke fixed those issues, as well as, keeping the good features (some products get worse when they get revised), then I would definitely buy a 87V in a heartbeat. But that would most likely call for a new model revision, an 87 VI. Btw, sorry for any typos, misspelling, grammar errors there may be. ADDENDUM: Someone suggested that a headphone port, or a screen that flashes the word continuity could be useful, when testing for continuity in a noisy environment. That's not something I needed, but I do understand the suggestion .
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great DMM Great DMM. I use for AC, DC voltages, resistance and capacitance measurements. Wish it came with a calibration certificate as without it I must immediately send to a calibration lab!
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Cadillac of Multimeters I've purchased several meters over the years. They would last 3-4 years then they found their way to the trash can. This Fluke 87V with its lifetime warranty will keep me from buying another meter (besides Fluke) ever again. I don't mind paying for quality that's built in the USA. That being said I own another Fluke, the 17b plus. While it's not the build of the 87V ,these two meters complement each other very well.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy once cry once This is my first big boy multimeter. To be honest, I waited far too long to get one. No more second guessing my older, cheaper, and unreliable Sperry multimeter. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent! The best multimeter ever! All the features you need in a compact size!
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New product for Lab use replacement for 8021B product after 38 years. thank you.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done Rugged, acurite, dependable, variety of accessories if you need them
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate, reliable, & rugged. I bought this meter because i want a meter thats durable and dead on accurate. Also wanted min/max features that were accurate and fast. Don’t want to break the ossiliscope out everytime i need accuracy. Would recommend this meter to anybody. Its pricy but worth it.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate and reliable! I bought this meter because it was rated accurate and reliable and it didn't let me down.
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still as excellent as ever Finally decided to upgrade my 20 year old 2000 count 3.5 digit "Shack" meter. Let's not kid ourselves - this thing is pricey. But for the money you get a lot. And SAFETY. The 6000/20,000 count accuracy is great, but the response time, ruggedness, and true CAT ratings make this a "buy and forget" 4.5 digit meter. No regrets. If I own this for 20 years again it will be a joy to own. No need for data logging, USB, etc. I have other bench instruments for that. Fluke quality, still made in USA.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from most reliable DMM ever built This was a gift to me last summer and is the most reliable meter I have ever had. I had other flukes in the past and have never had issues with any hand held fluke ever! I put 100% confidence in there equipment! This will last a life time
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the cost Been using fluke multimeters for 15years. Quality is great. Performance is always what you expect and need daily at work. Don’t waste your time or money trying other brands. i do wish it came with some better leads in the standard kit but they work good. Just stiff in the cold.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fluke 87v I bought this specifically for automotive and electronics. The bonus to me is the temp probe now I can accurately calibrate my vintage stove thermostat.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from electrical superintendent bought it to replace an 85 I had for twenty years.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best trouble shooting meters out If I am troubleshooting an issue this is my go to meter.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I bought this product to update my 73. It's done everything I've asked of it.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality of life booster I call the 87V a "quality of life booster" because I save time that is better spent with my family. The alternative is farting around with sketchy meters that I can't rely on. No thanks, I'll take my 87V!
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This meter does it all I replaced my old 87 from the 90’s that I bought while in mechanic school with this new 87 5 and I have to say that this new meter is everything that the old one was and more! Great product! I strongly recommend it to anyone who is in the market for an accurate and reliable piece of diagnostic equipment.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged, Versatile, Dependable I bought my 87V in 2006. It has never failed Calibration. It has kept calibration through international flights, extreme heat and extreme cold environments (160F to -30F) and minor drops. It surpasses Aviation accuracy requirements on every measurement it is capable of making. If you need reliable and accurate, you need this DMM.
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't know why I waited so long I bought this meter after questioning the accuracy of my UEI and Marco meters. After I got my fluke immediately loved it feels way higher qaulity and is extremely fast
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Best there is for a first time user, plenty of safety features.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Best DMM Very best quality dmm, very useful essential features pack dmm. No hanky fanky features in it. But ac bandwidth is very low for smps and video related analog electronics servicing. Camper to price min 50khz required. If 100khz better than best. Present time all smps operate above 40khz. Fluke know it. I use Philips make PM 2718 past 20 years. I use 87v past 3 years. Meter work very good. No problem yet. Do something else for bandwidth. I like lifetime warranty from Fluke Corporation. Thanks.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from electrical engineer several user shop meter , used in shop test area for checking
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Standard others judged by More multi meter than I'll ever need. Buy quality and only cry once!
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Go-To tool, missing 1 great feature Fluke is my go-to troubleshooting tool. However, I work in a building with hundreds of engineers. Everybody wants one and they like to "disappear". Would LOVE to see BLE module added to allow tracking location of "missing" or "borrowed" Fluke meters.
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great performer–but one nagging issue I bought this meter less than a week ago and found it to be very robust and accurate. However, when switched to DC amps, the meter always reads 0.004 A disconnected from any load, with or without leads attached. In order to get accurate DC current readings, I must zero it out with the REL (delta) button first. Then the readings are spot on with my Fluke 177. This doesn't sound right to me. Shouldn't the 87V read near 0.000 A in DC amps position?
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Meter I've had this meter a couple of months now and like this meter. I knew being a Fluke it would of good quality. The reason I got this particular model was it covers all of the standard features in one meter. The main one that I needed was to be able to measure 4-20ma signals. As for me Fluke is the only meter to have. I've still got my first Fluke meter and it still works. It's a Fluke 77 from 1993.
Date published: 2016-12-19
  • y_2019, m_11, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_fluke-87v, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fluke
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 24.79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT