Fluke 117 Electrician's Multimeter with Non-Contact Voltage

Fluke 117 Electrician's Ideal Multimeter with Non-Contact Voltage is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 52.
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 45.88ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Fluke 117 Multimeter For Electricians | Fluke
  • Fluke 117 Multimeter For Electricians | Fluke
  • Fluke 117 Multimeter For Electricians | Fluke
  • Fluke 117 Multimeter For Electricians | Fluke
  • Fluke 117 Multimeter For Electricians | Fluke

Key features

  • Non-contact voltage detection
  • AutoVolt automatic AC/DC voltage selection
  • Prevent false readings caused by ghost voltage with selectable low-impedance mode

Product overview: Fluke 117 Electrician's Multimeter with Non-Contact Voltage

Fluke 117 Digital Multimeter

The Fluke 117 Electricians Multimeter includes integrated non-contact voltage detection and Auto Volts and LoZ functions to help get the job done faster and prevent false readings caused by ghost voltage. It is a compact true-rms meter for demanding applications like commercial buildings, hospitals, and schools.

The Fluke 117 provides Min/Max/Average readings and measures frequency and capacitance. Plus, its easy-to-use interface can save you time and enable you to move from job to job more quickly.

Other useful features:

  • Features true-rms capabilities for accurate measurements on non-linear loads
  • Accurate, easy-to-use multimeter with integrated VoltAlert™ technology for fast, go/no go non-contact voltage detection
  • Features AutoVolt automatic AC/DC voltage selection
  • Provides low input impedance to help prevent false readings due to ghost voltage
  • Presents a large white LED backlight for working in poorly lit areas
  • Measures 10 A (20 A overload for 30-seconds)
  • Measures resistance, continuity, frequency, and capacitance
  • Provides Min/Max/Average to record signal fluctuations
  • Comes with an holster with probe holders for easy storage
  • Fits into optional ToolPak™ magnetic hanger for hands-free operation
  • CAT III 600 V safety rated
  • A large white LED backlight to improve measurement visibility in poorly lit areas

Specifications: Fluke 117 Electrician's Multimeter with Non-Contact Voltage

Specifications
Maximum voltage between any terminal and earth ground600 V
Surge protection6 kV peak per IEC 61010–1 600 VCAT III, Pollution Degree 2
Fuse for A input11 A, 1000 V FAST Fuse (Fluke PN 803293)
DisplayDigital: 6,000 counts, updates 4 per second
Bar graph33 segments, updates 32 per second
Operating temperature-10°C to +50°C
Storage temperature-40°C to +60°C
Battery type9 volt Alkaline, NEDA 1604A / IEC 6LR61
Battery life400 hours typical, without backlight
Accuracy Specifications
DC millivoltsRange/resolution600.0 mV / 0.1 mV
Accuracy±([% of reading] + [counts]): 0.5% + 2
DC voltsRange/resolution6.000 V / 0.001 V
60.00 V / 0.01 V
600.00 V / 0.1 V
Accuracy±([% of reading] + [counts]): 0.5% + 2
Auto voltsRange/resolution600.0 V / 0.1 V
Accuracy2.0% + 3 (DC, 45 Hz to 500 Hz)
4.0% + 3 (500 Hz to 1 kHz)
AC millivolts¹ True RMSRange/resolution600.0 mV / 0.1 mV
Accuracy1.0% + 3 (DC, 45 Hz to 500 Hz)
2.0% + 3 (500 Hz to 1 kHz)
AC volts¹ True RMSRange/resolution6.000 V / 0.001 V
60.00 V / 0.01 V
600.0 V / 0.1 V
Accuracy1.0% + 3 (DC, 45 Hz to 500 Hz)
2.0% + 3 (500 Hz to 1 kHz)
ContinuityRange/resolution600 Ω / 1 Ω
AccuracyBeeper on < 20 Ω, off > 250 Ω detects opens or shorts of
500 μs or longer.
OhmsRange/resolution600.0 Ω / 0.1 Ω
6.000 kΩ / 0.001 kΩ
60.00 kΩ / 0.01 kΩ
600.0 kΩ / 0.1 kΩ
6.000 MΩ / 0.001 MΩ
Accuracy0.9% + 1
Range/resolution40.00 MΩ / 0.01 MΩ
Accuracy5% + 2
Diode testRange/resolution2.00 V / 0.001 V
Accuracy0.9% + 2
CapacitanceRange/resolution1000 nF / 1 nF
10.00 μF / 0.01 μF
100.0 μF / 0.1 μF
9999 μF / 1 μF
100 μF to 1000 μF
Accuracy1.9% + 2
Range/resolution> 1000 μF
Accuracy5% + 20%
Lo-Z capacitanceRange1 nF to 500 μF
Accuracy10% + 2 typical
AC amps True RMS (45 Hz to 500 Hz)Range/resolution6.000 A / 0.001 A
10.00 A / 0.01 A
Accuracy1.5% + 3
20 A continuous overload for 30 seconds max
DC ampsRange/resolution

6.000 A / 0.001 A   10.00 A / 0.01 A

Accuracy1.0% + 3
20 A continuous overload for 30 seconds max
Hz (V or A input)²Range/resolution99.99 Hz / 0.01 Hz
999.9 Hz / 0.1 Hz
9.999 kHz / 0.001 Hz
50.00 kHz / 0.01 Hz
Accuracy0.1% + 2
1. All AC voltage ranges except Auto-V/LoZ are specified from 1% to 100% of range. Auto-V/LoZ is specified from 0.0 V.
2. Temperature uncertainty (accuracy) does not include the error of the thermocouple probe.
2. Frequency is AC coupled, 5 Hz to 50 kHz for AC voltage. Frequency is DC coupled, 45 Hz to 5 kHz for AC current.
2. Temperature Range/Resolution: -40°F to 752°F / 0.2°F.
Mechanical and General Specifications
Size167 x 84 x 46 mm (6.57 x 3.31 x 1.82 in)
Weight550 g
Warranty3 years

Models: Fluke 117 Electrician's Multimeter with Non-Contact Voltage

Fluke 117
Fluke 117 Electrician's Digital Multimeter with Non-Contact Voltage

Includes:

  • 4 mm silicone test lead set
  • Holster
  • User manual

Reviews: Fluke 117 Electrician's Multimeter with Non-Contact Voltage

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant for the job I have 12 general maintenance technicians, in an industrial environment, that have to deal with measuring voltages on the machines for lockout and troubleshooting purposes. The fluke 117 has proved itself to be the meter of choice. It has enough features to do the job at hand but not too many that complicates job performance. We have the Fluke 187s and Fluke 287s to do the more technical readings but 95% of our needs are just verifying voltages and continuity
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great meter As a maintenance guy, I rely on the 117 to trouble shoot every thing from hvac to boilers to electric panels. I like the non-contact voltage detection, it's fast and easy. The true RMS is a must for checking battery backups. The meter is compact and well built. Don't let the made in china hold you back, this meter is Fluke through and through. If I could change anything it would be the off postion would be all the way left not the AutoVolt. But I have gotten used to it. Add a fluke 324 clamp meter and you are set.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FLUKE..ONCE AGAIN THE BOTTOM LINE Looking for a high quality multimeter I purchased a Fluke 117 True RMS unit, not only is it high quality, but it is very easy to use, the meter is very accurate, and the unit stays where you put it, excellent design, functions, a True Multimeter, just another great Fluke product to keep on the truck" along with our other Fluke units.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid and accurate meter with great features I am an HVAC foreman and have been using this meter for couple years. This Meter has been a very handy tools for me since I frequently trouble shooting Air Handling unit , Boilers ,Unit heaters , Heat pumps ,etc. Some of the great features I love are: Large white LED backlit display/larger digits – Easier to read in dark locations. Automatic AC/DC voltage selection Prevents false reading from ghost voltage Strong magnet and protective casing of the meter
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Piece of mind As a home gamer- a fluke could be seen as overkill- but I do believe in high quality tools and their products have been recommended by electrical engineering friends. I can see why- well made products. This replaces lower quality meter that have had a tendency to die when you need them for troubleshooting. Been very pleased with this so far- enough features and sensitivity for my use.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable Fluke isn't known for being the most affordable option, and that's not always a bad thing. It's reliable and consistent and that is whats important to me. This meter delivers as expected.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite meter! I've owned several Fluke meters and products over the years and the 117 is by far my favorite. All the functions I need daily, plus a few others that come in handy. Super sturdy and the blue back light on screen helps to keep the display readings sharp in the dark. I like the no contact volt alert for a quick troubleshoot and helps keep my bag lighter since I don't have to bring more than 1 meter to get the job done.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for HVAC Techs! I bought this a month or so ago after my field piece meter stop working correctly. I love Everything about it. Everything I'll ever need for troubleshooting is available in this unit even a backlit display which is a huge plus for me. Amazing product! Good Job Fluke!!!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Intuitive Multimeter I have had one of these for over a year now and it still works great. It's easy to use because the different selections are easy to decipher. I have loaned it to inexperienced people and recommended this multimeter to others who love how simple it is to learn how to use. Yes you can buy a really cheap meter, but it can be a learning curve to figure out what the right settings are. This meter takes the majority of the gues work out and is durable.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the investment I spent hours searching and contemplating the right multimeter for me. In the end, I concluded that this would be the most cost effective and accurate since it is so durable and will likely last my lifetime. My philosophy is "Do it right, do it once." It's also been a great way to teach my son about simple electronics. He's always asking if he can use it. I also like a lot of the safety features that protect me and itself.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I bought this meter to help with battery replacement on a hybrid car battery pack. The build quality and Fluke's reputation for excellence are apparent in this meter. I look forward to purchasing more quality tools from Fluke.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic unit for the price! After having gone through several cheap multimeters over the years and never being satisfied with any of their user experiences I finally decided to go for a fluke. While this is far from their top of the line it has been amazing for me. The results are quick and accurate. The built quality is fantastic and I feel no issue with throwing it in my live sound gig bag and heading out. I purchased the master accessory set tlk 225 as well, and everything had been immensely easier and safer to measure with the variety of leads.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Had this multimeter for almost a year and haven't had a problem with it yet. Does everything I want with only one exception. I wish it had microamps, otherwise it does everything I need it for. A useful feature is the auto-ranging for volts. Use it from home use as well as at my job as facilities maintenance.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Electrician's Most Important Tool This tool is made for electricians. The low Z feature has 2 benefits. It will determine AC or DC voltage. It isn't fooled by fantom voltages. Fluke tools are unbeatable!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent multimeter for electricians!! Excellent Multimeter - For electricians I've been using this multimeter for more than a month now. Once you put in your hand. You'll see the advantages over other brands will be obvious. From the rugged construction, ease of use, excellent performance and accuracy you will not be disappointed. Excellent! Quality and value.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to read and use and the screen This is a great meter that helps me identify and troubleshoot many issue that I encounter on a weekly basis. I especially love the way the screen looks when using the light feature in dark places and it is very clear to see what my readings are. Fluke is the way to go if you want to do a quality job using quality tools.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trouble Shooting Helper I help customers trouble shoot control systems on mobile machines over the phone. I always recommend that the customer uses the Fluke 117 when asked what meter should I buy.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all round meter! We bought these for our work. Not only are they rugged, but they have all the features you would need in a multimeter. I enjoy having the AC voltage detector built in. This allows for quick voltage checks on AC wires. The battery life is great on these meters. Much better than other brands we've used.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great meter for the money I've had this meter for 3 years now and I can say that it's the one you want! The read rate is fast, it picks up right away. The volt alert is extremely handy and works well. The unit is also very durable as I've dropped it from 6 or more feet onto concrete several times. You cannot beat the 117 for general electric AC/DC and even low current DC.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The last Multimeter you'll ever need to purchase I've been using Fluke Mulitmeters for over 20 years in the engineering industry and have never once been let down by their performance. The Fluke 117 is no different. Great product with consistently excellent performance. Don't waste your money on another multimeter just to save a few bucks...in the end you'll wish you bought a Fluke.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have this meter for every day tasks!! I work as an Aviation Avionic Tech, working with multiple voltages and frequencies. This meter is always accurate and so easy use. It's auto voltage feature is a must have in aviation, easy to find out if AC is back feeding into the DC. This is a must have meter!!! You will not be disappointed!!!!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional Grade! Best DMV. I have used other lesser brands of DMV thinking "what's the difference?" In 20 years of professional experience I have found the difference is reliability, durability, and accuracy. My Fluke 117 is the first tool I grab when trouble shooting systems on board the various boats, yachts and ships I service daily. It has never let me down where others have failed mid job. Fluke help me keep these boats up and running!
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from True RMS to the test We are a mid size heat treat shop and had purchased two of these 115s, have to say they are very durable and have even taken some series abuse, We use for temperature and general electrical issues, very well built. We have to send them out to be re-calibrated every 3 months for spec work and they are never really off calibration, very very happy.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Shelf Multimeter With A Very Reasonable Pprice If you are thinking about buying another multimeter to save a few dollars I can only say don't do it. The Fluke will last a lifetime and you will never be disappointed that you spent a little more money for the best.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obviously Simple This was the perfect digital multi-meter for our tool bag. Simple to use and has a bonus non-contact voltage detector not normally seen on other meters.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wrong Specs? The specs on this 117 do not match up with your data sheet on amperage resolutions I noticed this on a lot of other items also.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fluke I've ever had I love this meter, able to use non contact check then move right in to take measurements. Brilliant design, saves me time every day.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fluke I've ever had I love this meter, able to use non contact check then move right in to take measurements. Brilliant design, saves me time every day.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best !!!! I have used DVM's for 27 years. The 117 has been the best. No other brand can match Flukes durability and dependability. My day starts by grabbing my Fluke 117, and ends when I shut off my meter. My usage of the 117 ranges from HVAC to Trouble shooting a circuit board. Thanks Fluke for knocking this one out of the park!
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best !!!! I have used DVM's for 27 years. The 117 has been the best. No other brand can match Flukes durability and dependability. My day starts by grabbing my Fluke 117, and ends when I shut off my meter. My usage of the 117 ranges from HVAC to Trouble shooting a circuit board. Thanks Fluke for knocking this one out of the park!
Date published: 2012-08-29
  • y_2019, m_11, d_28, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_fluke-117, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fluke
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 30.38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT